Friday Fun: Desks and Reading Nooks

It’s been a week of intensive writing and reading, so here are some inspirational places to engage in such activities.

Simple but efficient. Perhaps with a slightly more comfortable chair. From Pinterest.
Simple but efficient. Perhaps with a slightly more comfortable chair. From Pinterest.
Hidey hole for when parents want to interrupt your reading for irrelevant things such as dinner or homework. From karinweiborg.com
Hidey hole for when parents want to interrupt your reading for irrelevant things such as dinner or homework. From karinweiborg.com
For those who can't leave their CEO persona at work. From Architectural Digest.
For those who can’t leave their CEO persona at work. From Architectural Digest.
For those who come in pairs or need two of everything. From houzz.com
For those who come in pairs or need two of everything. From houzz.com
Even the smallest room in the house deserves a bookshelf. from Domaine.com
Even the smallest room in the house deserves a bookshelf. from Domaine.com
For nostalgia fans or heavy smokers, this gentlemen's club look from anthropologieathome.com
For nostalgia fans or heavy smokers, this gentlemen’s club look from anthropologieathome.com
22 thoughts on “Friday Fun: Desks and Reading Nooks”

  1. Nice selection! I would have loved the hidey hole – I used to find the airing cupboard quite useful why I was young for a bit of secret reading… 😀

    1. In summer I was up in trees, but hidey holes are perfect for winter. Sadly, I didn’t have one as a child. Torches under the bedclothes at night, I’m afraid.

  2. Hidey hole for lazy Sunday afternoon’s
    CEO office – I need a place for my laptop
    Englishman’s library – cozy reading, is there a fireplace too?
    Awful: cattle skull…yikes!

  3. I couldn’t cope with that skull looking at me – for some reason writing itself always keeps me in touch with my mortality! The gentlemen’s club would have to be the one for me because it’s the messiest of the lot and therefore the most familiar.

  4. That hidey-hole is wonderful, Marina Sofia! Can adults escape to places like that, too?? And why shouldn’t the smallest room also have plenty of bookshelves? Seems perfectly logical to me.

  5. These days I’d want the bottom one – a footstool is really a requirement for true reading comfort. But ooh, I’d have loved that hidey hole as a child! The top one looks a bit creepy with the skull on the wall…

  6. Am I allowed to say that I want a hidey-hole to get away from the children? Not always, just sometimes. And it would have to be a secret, or I wouldn’t really be hiding. 🙂

Do share your thoughts!

