Friday Fun: Unusual Libraries Around the World

Home libraries are all very fine and dandy, but nothing beats the variety and serendipity of a well-stocked public library. Even better when the library is in a hard-to-reach place or else a magnificent architectural feat. Here are some of my recent favourites.

The resurrected Library of Alexandria, from www.egyptqueen.com
The resurrected Library of Alexandria, from http://www.egyptqueen.com
The delivery by donkey library in Colombia, Biblioburro, from litreactor.com
The delivery by donkey library in Colombia, Biblioburro, from litreactor.com
Pride of France, the Bibliotheque Nationale, photo by Franck Bohbot.
Pride of France, the Bibliotheque Nationale, photo by Franck Bohbot.
Mekong Lao river library for schoolchildren in China, from guardian.com
Mekong Lao river library for schoolchildren in China, from guardian.com
The Reading Room at the British Museum, where I wrote most of my thesis, before the library moved to its new building.
The Reading Room at the British Museum, where I wrote most of my thesis, before the library moved to its new building.
Ecological credentials for the Warsaw University Library, from tourwarsaw.wordpress.com
Ecological credentials for the Warsaw University Library, from tourwarsaw.wordpress.com
Known as the Black Diamond, the Royal Danish Library in Copenhagen is quite something from every angle. From flavorwire.com
Known as the Black Diamond, the Royal Danish Library in Copenhagen is quite something from every angle. From flavorwire.com

 

13 thoughts on “Friday Fun: Unusual Libraries Around the World”

  1. Those are all fabulous – but I tend to love every library, and I have fond memories of the mobile library coming round our streets when I was little!

  2. Ah, yes, the British Library’s Reading Room! What a lovely place that was, wasn’t it? So glad you showed it, Marina Sofia. The others are great, too, and I have to say I really admire people and groups who provide books to those who can’t get to libraries (like the donkey library). What a service!

  3. Thanks for sharing your library pictures. I too love libraries, but of these I’ve only ever visited the Reading Room at the British Library–loved it and miss it very much. Hope I will get to visit some of the others one day.

  4. Enjoyed these. Thanks. I love the small mobile ones. I always want to visit the older, classic ones but only sometimes want to see the newer ones. I think book lovers tend to favor the more classic design.

  5. The one at Trinity College is amazing too.
    I’ve never been to the BNF, I should go one of these days.
    The donkey one is thought provoking.

Do share your thoughts!

