Friday Fun: Favourite Animals

It’s not Friday yet, but many of you have tomorrow off, so it’s as good as… (We don’t!).

I’m fond of most animals and used to dream of becoming a minder in a baby elephant orphanage in Sri Lanka or Africa. Besides, it’s nearly Easter, so we are in the mood for something fluffy and cute, aren’t we? So here are irresistible pictures of my two favourite animals: elephants and lynx(es? lynxi?). Let me hear you all in chorus: awwwww!

Baby elephant racing along, from buzzfeed.com
Baby elephant racing along, from buzzfeed.com
Sometimes you just need to hold trunks with Mummy. From acuteaday.com
Sometimes you just need to hold trunks with Mummy. From acuteaday.com
I may be a baby, but I can roar! From imgur.com
I may be a baby, but I can roar! From imgur.com
Growing into a fetching toddler, from zooborn.com
Growing into a fetching toddler, from zooborn.com
Devoted lynx mother and cub, from National Geographic.
Devoted lynx mother and cub, from National Geographic.
Caracals are from the lynx family as well, from imgur.com
Caracals are from the lynx family as well, from imgur.com
Lynx kitten falls asleep in a tree. From reveal.co.uk
Lynx kitten falls asleep in a tree. From reveal.co.uk

And one more baby elephant to really tug at your heartstrings.

Hello and goodbye, from thehigherlearning.com
Hello and goodbye, from thehigherlearning.com

We have adopted an elephant, a matriarch named Grace, and we get news about her herd once a year, but we have yet to meet free-roaming elephants.

Luckily, the lynx has been successfully reintroduced into the Jura mountains of Switzerland (and have crossed the border into France, those illegal immigrants!!!), so we do see occasional traces of them. They are very shy and solitary creatures, however, so I only ever saw one from a cable car, at a safe distance. There is a rather wonderful film about Milos, a Slovakian wildlife ranger, who raises a couple of lynx cubs to reintroduce them to the wild. Well worth watching if you are fascinated by these rare creatures. There have been a few cases of attacks on sheep, but generally the coexistence has been peaceful. The greatest danger to the lynx currently are cars speeding on the mountain roads.

Happy Easter, everyone who is celebrating this weekend!

19 thoughts on “Friday Fun: Favourite Animals”

  1. We met some wild elephants,on a trip to Tanzania. I swear the offspring behaved just like human kids. The babies were too cute but sometimes had tantrums, the teens fought each other with sticks and so on. Adorable!

    1. I’d have loved to see that! Yes, they are such wonderful family-oriented creatures. I love the way all the females in the herd help with babysitting etc.

  2. These images remind me of my visit to Addo Elephant Park in South Africa. I was amazed by the size of the African elephants (having only seen the Indian variety before), but the absolute highlight was to have a young caracal (or rooikat) sit beside our car for perhaps 10 minutes while I tried to take photos (of course he wasn’t on my side). Seeing one of these cats in the wild is rare, people who have lived in the country all their lives have never been so lucky. My friend emailed everyone she knew with photos. I am going to try to link one here:
    [url=https://flic.kr/p/yV7nEN][img]https://farm1.staticflickr.com/744/21604434430_bc81fbe499_z.jpg[/img][/url][url=https://flic.kr/p/yV7nEN]Little rooikat[/url] by [url=https://www.flickr.com/photos/jm_schrei/]Joe Schreiber[/url], on Flickr

  3. Your photos remind me of my trip to Addo Elephant National Park in South Africa last year. The elephants were amazing but the highlight was spotting two young caracal (rooikats). One sat by our car for perhaps 10 minutes and I managed a few shots (of course he was not on my side). A sighting in the wild is exceptionally rare, my friend was bragging to everyone she knew! Here is a link (I hope) from my flickr photostream: https://flic.kr/p/yV7nEN

Do share your thoughts!

