Friday Fun: Home Offices, Home Libraries

Now that my book collection is officially overflowing from the shelves, here are some useful tips for decorating and organising your office/library space.

Have a ladder close to hand to search for that elusive reference book. From aestate.tumblr
Have a ladder close to hand to search for that elusive reference book. From aestate.tumblr
A clear, well-lit place for assassins to target you will improve your productivity no end! From aestate.tumblr
A clear, well-lit place for assassins to target you will improve your productivity no end! From aestate.tumblr
Double the size of your room with clever reflecting windows! From seabloggessato.com
Double the size of your room with clever reflecting windows! From seabloggessato.com
Use the colours of nostalgia to make it look like your books have been there for generations (you didn't buy them yourself). From lifeinsugarhollow.com
Use the colours of nostalgia to make it look like your books have been there for generations (you didn’t buy them yourself). From lifeinsugarhollow.com
Hide it well away from the main house and there's a good chance the family won't even notice... From TJ Tomlin/Shantylife.
Hide it well away from the main house and there’s a good chance the family won’t even notice… From TJ Tomlin/Shantylife.
Just buy, borrow, beg or steal a bigger house! From mediabookbub.com
Just buy, borrow, beg or steal a bigger (or at least a taller) house! From mediabookbub.com
18 thoughts on “Friday Fun: Home Offices, Home Libraries”

  1. At the risk of misquoting, I fall into the category of those who will definitely need a bigger house! (Plus, I’ve always been v taken with those bookshelf ladders…)

  2. I know…the feeling ofan E-book is just not the same.
    My worst habit is I ‘throw out a book’ in a whirlwind of Spring cleaning. E-books just hover in my ‘cloud’ !

  3. Oh, my, Marina Sofia! These are all fantastic!! I just love ’em! I would love that one from aestate. with that beautiful window. I’ll just have to stay out of sight, all curled up and reading… 😉

  4. My partner’s fear is the last one and actually it does make me feel slightly ill so maybe I’m making progress! Recently I went to a super-cool new bookshop which has opened just off Brick Lane and I was feeling too ‘in every way challenged’ to be in such a cool space and also I couldn’t work out how the shop was set up and then I almost knocked myself unconscious by walking into the back wall which was in fact a mirror. So reflective glass is the enemy as far as I’m concerned! I very much like the phrase the colours of nostalgia by the way.

  5. You wouldn’t want to be afraid of heights to have that last one – you would never read those upper books! I wouldn’t have that problem, but I do also like the idea of the one that can be hidden away. 🙂

  6. I’d need to love a book very much indeed to be willing to go up that ladder! I think I’d opt for long and low bookshelves – though the nostalgia one might do, if I could have an extension built at the back…

Do share your thoughts!

