Friday Fun: Local Villages

I’m already suffering from homesickness before I’ve even left this region. I am aware just how lucky I’ve been to be able to call this ‘my local area’ for the past 5 years. Here are some reasons why…

Reason 1: the lake surrounded by mountains
Reason 1: the lake surrounded by mountains
Reason 2: the vineyards
Reason 2: the vineyards
Reason: the jumble of waterfront houses
Reason 3: the jumble of waterfront houses
Reason 4: no high fences
Reason 4: no high fences
Reason 5: Plenty of gracious manor houses
Reason 5: Plenty of gracious, not too grand manor houses
Reason 6: Mont Blanc dominating the horizon no matter where you are
Reason 6: Mont Blanc dominating the horizon no matter where you are
Reason 7: Borders have become a thing of the past...
Reason 7: Borders have become a thing of the past…
Reason 9: Full moon is made even more dramatic by the backdrop of mountains
Reason 8: Full moon is made even more dramatic by the backdrop of mountains
Reason 9: Neighbours with far better gardens than ours
Reason 9: Neighbours with far better gardens than ours
Reason 10: If you get bored with the Alps, you swivel round and admire the Jura
Reason 10: If you get bored with the Alps, you swivel round and admire the Jura

And, if you need one bonus reason, having cake and tea by the lakeside (or a glass of local wine):

Village10

26 thoughts on “Friday Fun: Local Villages”

    1. I don’t know about slow and idle: the place is full of building sites (not shown in my pictures), as the population is constantly expanding, while the job market in the Geneva area remains relatively strong. If there is an area that could complain about immigrants, it is this one, but they don’t! (The more remote, rural parts of Switzerland, where there are few immigrants, do though…)

  1. First the country (sights and sounds) then the food then the language. Changing country is never easy. Don’t even try for the food. Even if you find something that bares the same name. Not even remotely the same. And I still refuse (to myself) to even visit the other country. Might lead to (very) bad ideas…

    1. Now I’m confused – which country do you refuse to visit – Britain or France? Or Switzerland?
      I’ve lived in Britain for many years, far more than I lived in France, so I should be fine once I’m there. But I’m a mountain/croissant/wine kinda gal, so…

      1. Country of origin: Germany esp the area where I grew up. Slightly south of Stuttgart. Beer in Germany is different. Not even in the northern part of Germant they are capable of making “Bretzeln”. While I was still eating meat I indiged regularly in something called Fleischkäse. A slice thick as a finger in a fresh local bun (=Laugawegga), le bonheur absolu. Impossible to get the “perfect’ cheese in Belgium to prepare Kässpätzle. Belgian croissants are not the same as french (Milady is French). I could go on for hours about the food

      2. Ah, yes, the Swiss croissants are not the same – even though it’s just five minutes down the road! I wonder if Fleischkase is like the Viennese Leberkas’ – I used to beg my mother for one from the snack van whenever we went to do the weekly shopping.

      3. Same origin at least. There was a trial once where a butcher prepared his Leberkäse without liver. The one without was better. In the end the word origins from “Lebenskäse” and liver is just optional. Nowadays everything is ruled. If I’m not wrong there now has to be a certain amount of liver in Leberkäse. Or you have to call it Fleischkäse. And all the different version now are superfluous Pizzafleischkäse (with tomato bits), Zwiebelf… (onions) and so on…

  2. Such lovely pictures, Marina. The views of the mountains remind me of a walking holiday we had in Adelboden a few years ago. Thanks for prompting those memories and I hope you’ll have many happy ones of your own to look back on.

  3. Just a few more weeks to enjoy the absolutely lovely place you live in! Speaking from ‘below the sea level’ mountain views take my breath away! I say ‘ anyone living in France’ is living my dream. I guess I’ll just have to escape in my French books! Enjoy your summer, good luck with the move and please tell me how nice it is to have plays and books in English…within your grasp, not mine.

    1. That’s what I ask myself each morning when I get a clear view of the mountains (luckily, that doesn’t happen every day). And no, it doesn’t help!

  4. Beautiful pictures of a beautiful area. But I can’t believe you are leaving Switzerland!!! What will the Geneva writers and the rest of us do without you? I hope we can at least count on Friday Fun from the UK 😣

    1. Awww, thank you, you are too kind! I actually live in a very nice part of England on the Thames Valley, so I’m sure there will be plenty more photogenic opportunities!

Do share your thoughts!

