Friday Fun: Planning My Escape…

There are no words left in me today.

Interior courtyard, from Espaces Atypiques.
Interior courtyard, from Espaces Atypiques.
German house on the lake, from smallhousebliss.com
German house on the lake, from smallhousebliss.com
Deck of the HGTV Dream Home 2013 located on Kiawah Island in South Carolina.
Deck of the HGTV Dream Home 2013 located on Kiawah Island in South Carolina.
Hotel room on one of Thailand's islands, from hotels.com
Hotel room on one of Thailand’s islands, from hotels.com
Private island in Thailand, from splendia.com
Private island in Thailand, from splendia.com
If you don't have the sea around, just a few trees, don't despair. This terrace is also inviting, from domaine.com
If you don’t have the sea around, just a few trees, don’t despair. This terrace is also inviting, from domaine.com
How to combine two of my favourite pastimes: eating/drinking and staring into the distance... From pooldesign.com
How to combine two of my favourite pastimes: eating/drinking and staring into the distance… From pooldesign.com
14 thoughts on “Friday Fun: Planning My Escape…”

  1. I was thinking of you and your heartfelt post as the news filtered through today and can understand why you’ve run out of words. Hope the thought of those escapes brings you a little peace…the German house on the lake is my favourite.

    Wishing you all the best

  2. What a day!! I don’t blame you one bit for wanting to escape, Marina Sofia, and I know what you mean about being without words. I love that private Thai island, and you’re welcome to visit any time!

  3. As soon as I heard the radio this morning I thought of you and your beautiful essay. This is such a disappointment. These seem like wonderful havens of peace, very very far from the sad news of the world.

  4. I’m so sorry Marina. Thanks for sharing such a lovely blog on such an awful day. It has cheered me up (distracted me). I needed that. I am so disappointed in my country.

  5. Ah, Thailand is lovely. I enjoyed the snorkelling there so much. A dear friend who lives nearby has a house in Thailand and wants me to visit with her. Honestly, I did prefer my time in Vietnam and the South China Sea. There was this little island with plenty of waterfalls…

  6. That last one is a bit weird. I like the one with the hammock chair but I suspect I might fall off of it if I tried it.

    Anyway. Cheer Up. There’s loads of great books in your future.

  7. I have a friend who often talks about escape to Tahiti, it’s the place we imagine when we feel like being transported elsewhere. My Tahiti in reality is the library, because it really is a place to escape to, that requires no planning or preparation and yet can evoke a little of that feeling we imagine by being someplace else far away, just being. It’s important to have somewhere nearby that is capable of evoking that feeling and then of course there are books.

    If you ever wish to escape to Aix for a spell, let me know, you’re most welcome!

Do share your thoughts!

