Friday Fun: Landscapes and Houses

To escape my present chaos, here are the landscapes I’ve recently rediscovered in England and in Romania. As well as some effortlessly elegant houses to which I can but aspire!

Climbing towards Cetatea Poienari, the real Dracula's castle in Arges, Romania.
Climbing towards Cetatea Poienari, the real Dracula’s castle in Arges, Romania. 1480 steps take you to the top.
Some sinister souvenirs await you in the ruins of the fortress. But then, it was used as a prison...
Some sinister souvenirs await you in the ruins of the fortress. But then, it was used as a prison…
The view downstream...
The view downstream…
...and the view upstream are both equally astonishing and lushly green.
…and the view upstream are both equally astonishing and lushly green.
But we're pretty blessed with lush greenery in this corner of the world, on the Thames, as well.
But we’re pretty blessed with lush greenery in this corner of the world, on the Thames, as well.
And this is what I would like my conservatory to look like, instead of the boiling in summer, freezing in winter construction with a green-slimed roof, broken blinds and dingy old carpet.
And this is what I would like my conservatory to look like, instead of the boiling in summer, freezing in winter construction with a green-slimed roof, broken blinds and dingy old carpet.
Yet, even in this imperfect state, it is a wonderful place to read and relax...
Yet, even in this imperfect state, it is a wonderful place to read and relax…
14 thoughts on “Friday Fun: Landscapes and Houses”

    1. Let me know if you are going, as I may well join you! It’s been far too long since I’ve had a proper holiday in Romania (instead of just visiting relatives).

  1. Those views of the castle are stunning, Marina Sofia, despite its history! And bit by bit, you’ll have your place looking lovely – I know you will. In the meantime, you’ve got your own little corner for curling up with a book . 🙂

  2. I hope you’re soon properly settled in, Marina, and your new place begins to feel more like home. I always enjoy the photos in your Friday Fun posts. Romanian landscape looks beautiful 🙂

  3. I have to admit that at the moment the Thames is more appealing than Transylvania. As for your conservatory – looks pretty good to me with lots of potential for some kind of book nook! Hope you’re settling in ok!

Do share your thoughts!

