Friday Fun: Conservatories

It’s a peculiarly English thing (perhaps because of the unreliable summers?). I don’t think I’ve seen that many conservatories or winter gardens or orangeries in any other country. While waiting for my conservatory to miraculously transform into the perfect reading nook with plants, here are some I admire.

From DesignRulz.
From DesignRulz. I do like the classic café design of the floor tiles.
For the more ambitious and well-moneyed (and bookless), from Crystal Living.
For the more ambitious and well-moneyed (and bookless), from Crystal Living.
More of a bookworm's path to the terrace than a full-blown conservatory, from Eclectic Sunroom.
More of a bookworm’s path to the terrace than a full-blown conservatory, from Eclectic Sunroom.
For those with a very large collection of books, from Message Note.
For those with a very large collection of books, from Message Note.
For the romantic vintage-lovers, from Pinterest.
For the romantic vintage-lovers, from Pinterest.
For more modest ambitions, from lowcostconservatory.com
For more modest , lean-to ambitions, from lowcostconservatory.com
Mark Twain clearly knew a thing or two about conservatories and libraries: he combined the two in his house. From Architecture Today.
Mark Twain clearly knew a thing or two about conservatories and libraries: he combined the two in his house.
A view of Twain's library and conservatory from further away. From About Architecture.
A view of Twain’s library and conservatory from further away. From About Architecture.

 

21 thoughts on “Friday Fun: Conservatories”

  1. Oh what a beautiful thing to behold on a Friday morning! Twain’s is stunning and I could just see myself sipping tea in the vintage one. It almost makes one pleased that we have such dreadful weather, if it inspires gorgeousness such as these 🙂

  2. One of the things I miss from our old house is the conservatory. Not that we ever got around to making something decent of the space but I did love to read there. No possibilities of a conservatory here (not that I’m complaining). If there was, and money was no object, I would go for no 4. In fact, we COULD add something like that…. You’ve started me off now, Marina! 😀

    Daydreaming aside, I’d have concerns about too much sunlight damaging the spines of my precious babies. Mark Twain has the answer I think. That room is simply sensational!

    1. That’s exactly what I was thinking: sunshine and books could lead to all sorts of problems. I do have some shades in my conservatory, but it still is very bright, so I have to limit the number of books.
      As for that No. 4, it could be a studio for an artist or something, couldn’t it (leading you into temptation).

  3. Twain most definitely had the right idea – books and a conservatory were made for each other (though mine is such a tatty and leaky affair that I don’t dare risk anything paper in it!) I do love the first and third, too!

    1. It’s always the place in the house where visitors go when they want to read the papers, the children go to play board games, I go to read… it’s the peaceful spot. Even in its current uncouth state.

  4. Near to where I grew up in Co. Wexford, Ireland, there was a large old manor house. It had, unfortunately, fallen into ruin. The orangerie was just a skeleton of cast iron but it always looked beautifully haunting. Any time I passed that place my mind filled with stories and thoughts of what had been there and what, perhaps, still was.
    I haven’t been there in years but this post brought it right back to mind.

  5. I’ve always longed for a conservatory, or a sun room, where I can sprawl out and read to my heart’s content. I adore that huge fountain pen! Could do some serious writing with that thing! 😉

Do share your thoughts!

