August Reading and Misreading

Nearly forgot to do the monthly round-up of my reading, until I saw Tony’s meticulous accounting of his time. I cannot compete with that, of course. August has been haphazard and I’m frankly surprised I got any reading or reviewing done at all.

Haven't taken down all the books from the loft, so these look elegantly empty still.
Haven’t taken down all the books from the loft, so these look elegantly empty still.

I participated (loosely, very loosely speaking) in two challenges this summer.

Women in Translation Month – failed

Although I tried to sneak in two books I read in July for this category (they also fit in the next category, so it is double cheating), I only truly read one book by a woman writer translated into English this month. And it was a reread.

Clarice Lispector: Near to the Wild Heart

20 Books of Summer – failed

I only got as far as 13 books in total, of which I read two in August.

Stav Sherez: The Devil’s Playground

Wolf Haas: Komm, suesser Tod (same link as above)

Books for Review (but unreviewed  in time thanks to internet circumstances so another failure)

Clare Mackintosh: I See You

Unplanned Books – unreviewed

Arthur Ransome: Swallowdale (reread, picked up at my parents’ house in Romania)

Kate Tempest: The Bricks that Built the Houses (I admire her poetry and couldn’t resist when I saw this featured at the local library)

Only 6 books! I think you will agree that is highly unusual for me. I don’t even have enough to do a ‘best of’.

But there’s always the optimism of September and the fresh page of a new school year.

WP_20160903_08_32_34_Pro

I will be #ReadingRhys together with Jacqui and Eric.

I’ve just finished rereading The Moonstone, that famed ‘first ever detective novel’ and will be featuring it in Classics in September, together with another feature on ‘literary crime’ (I have my own list of obvious suspects there, but any suggestions you might have would be gratefully received).

Catching up with my long-inaccessible and neglected Netgalley shelves. I’ll be working in pairs of ‘recent/older’ titles. First up: Pascal Garnier’s The Eskimo Solution and Essential Poems by 10 American poets.

 

 

 

 

 

 

20 thoughts on “August Reading and Misreading”

  1. Given the fact that you had to orchestrate a major move during August, I think you’ve done pretty well to read anything other than admin forms and suchlike. Delighted to hear you’ll be joining us for #Readinghys – only a week to go now. 🙂

  2. Well, at least you have a valid excuse for not reading/blogging – I was just lazy. 🙂 I can always use the Olympics as an excuse, I suppose.

  3. I think you had enough going on to worry about blogging and reading. I absolutely love The Moonstone so look forward to your thoughts about that and other literary crime – right up my street.

  4. I feel I failed the Virago thing. I only read two out of eight or ten possibilities. And I have no excuses – move or such major things.
    Glad to see you’re settling in.

  5. I think you’ve done extremely well given what’s been going on in your life recently. And I failed 20 books of Summer too and I’ve had no such reasons other than not reading fast enough 🙂

  6. Well – if I manage 6 books in a month I consider that a resounding triumph! All things are relative 🙂 I have no idea how you prolific readers manage to get through so many books so quickly – and have time to pen considered reviews at the end. Perhaps I’m just an exceptionally slow reader…. I certainly need ages to put to together my thoughts afterwards 🙂

  7. You’ve had so much going on over the summer, Marina Sofia, that I’m amazed you had the time to do any reading and reviewing. I’m looking forward to your thoughts on The Moonstone – it’s one of those pioneering sorts of crime novels.

  8. Sometimes life interferes with reading. I’m constantly amazed to see how many books some people can read in a month, hell, even in a week! I can’t figure out how they do it. Speed reading? No sleep?
    Anyway, don’t beat yourself up. You’re fighting the good fight and the books will always be there waiting. (((Hugs)))

  9. Well, goodness, as you were moving from one country to another I don’t think you can be expected to read lots of books too! Well done on coping with all that disruption and I’m sure September will be a better reading month.

  10. I’m right in the middle of the Eskimo Solution too!! (about a third actually). I fail at all my book challenges and I have too many challenges at work; so now I don’t take them anymore!

  11. But this is (reading, blogging) supposed to be a pleasure, why do we all find it so easy to feel guilty that we don’t manage to do tasks we set ourselves as pleasures, initially? We all do it! Anyway, I hope you are settling down in your new place and it is coming to feel like home

Do share your thoughts!

