Friday Fun: Reading Oasis

I may be ordering an orange and lemon tree for the conservatory, but for the time being, this is what my little reading oasis looks like (before it gets too cold to sit in there). Although there hasn’t been that much time for reading lately…

wp_20160904_15_16_40_pro

Here are some more ambitious reading corners to which one might aspire…

The library is nothing else but a huge reading corner, from homedit.com
The library is nothing else but a huge reading corner, from homedit.com

 

readingfamilysponge
Reading in a window seat is always fun, and there’s so much storage for books and magazines in there. From Familysponge.com
From Pinterest, the rustic and romantic version of the window seat.
From Pinterest, the rustic and romantic version of the window seat.
A modest corner of the living room dedicated to reading, from minimalisti.com
A modest corner of the living room dedicated to reading, from minimalisti.com
And a slightly less modest corner of the living room, from resenhasalacarte.com.br
And a slightly less modest corner of the living room, from resenhasalacarte.com.br

And, for the ultimate dream… with a view…

From Homebunch.com
From Homebunch.com

 

 

 

24 thoughts on “Friday Fun: Reading Oasis”

  1. I have my own reading room now, my husband made it for me as a surprise. Granted we evicted the kids from their playroom but they control the rest of the house so fair’s fair!

    1. That’s lovely – what a thoughtful husband you have! My children still have some of their games in the conservatory, but they use them less and less, so I do have the place mostly to myself.

  2. Oh wow, all these look so amazing. I like the first one especially.It looks simple yet so cozy. One day I will have one of these. In the meantime, my reading space is the couch:-)

  3. I like the rustic and romantic one – I’m always deeply worried by people who sort their books according to the colour of the spines so the penultimate one would be a no no. Mind you having said that I glance to my left and see a bank of green Viragos staring back at me!

    1. Ah, that’s different! Mind you, French bookshops often have books arranged by publishers and I have such a hard time finding the authors I want (if I can’t remember who published them, or they’ve been published by several).

    1. I don’t seem to have much time to actually sit and read, sadly, but yes, it has always felt like home, despite its creaking bones (this is the old house in which we lived prior to moving to France). I’m just wary of becoming too attached, as we might have to sell it soon.

    1. Last night we had a thunderstorm and this morning it was still raining heavily, so not only was it cold in the conservatory, but also deafening. NOT a haven of peace and quiet!

Do share your thoughts!

