The Over You Blues

This poem was inspired by a night of blues at the fabulous Fetes des Fourvieres at the Roman Amphitheatre in Lyon. So it’s dedicated to Emma, reader, blogger and friend, who encouraged me to spend that glorious summer evening there with her.

Over You Blues

I’m gonna leave this town                   and take my mailbox too.

I’m gonna leave this goddam town                and take my mailbox too.

So when I leave this fake old town                 what are you gonna do?

 

With my mailbox all mine                   no more of your excuses will do.

When my mailbox is all mine                         your wrong address excuses won’t do.

I’ll keep my mailbox all to myself                   no more excuses from you!

 

I’m so over you now                even though you done me wrong.

I’m over and out with you now                       ‘cos you done me so wrong

I’m so over you now…                Don’t know why I’m writing this song!

The legendary Bessie Smith.
The legendary Bessie Smith.

 

9 thoughts on “The Over You Blues”

Do share your thoughts!

