Friday Fun: Unusual Concept Houses

As I’m about to head off into a week of hard work, where I have to be switched on every single day, I couldn’t help thinking how difficult it would be to relax in some of the homes below.

It’s hard work at times, living in an architect’s experiment. Some of these horrify me and some make me yearn to move again. Almost.

Let's start with something livable and tropical, from homehousedesign.blogspot.com
Let’s start with something livable and tropical, from homehousedesign.blogspot.com
Add all wood exteriors and curved outer corners, from ccsites.com
Add all wood exteriors and curved outer corners, from ccsites.com
Add a garden path to take you to your property, from ovnis.co
Add a garden path to take you to your property, from ovnis.co
If you're short on space, you can always build a terraced house of sorts, from hometrendesign.com
If you’re short on space, you can always build a terraced house of sorts, from hometrendesign.com
But you might prefer a more innovative shape, the Klein Bottle House in Australia, from build.com.au
But you might prefer a more innovative shape, the Klein Bottle House in Australia, from build.com.au
If you have Hobbit or Teletubby tendencies, you could bury yourself in the ground, from drawhome.com
If you have Hobbit or Teletubby tendencies, you could bury yourself in the ground, from drawhome.com
And if it's location, location, location you're after, then what better than a Cliff House, from modscape.com
And if it’s location, location, location you’re after, then what better than a Cliff House, from modscape.com

19 thoughts on “Friday Fun: Unusual Concept Houses”

  1. I’m a huge fan of Grand Designs and love all those huge windows and sliding glass doors but how do people sleep at night? Perhaps it’s the kind of glass that mystified me in a Vienna coffee house loo until I plucked up courage to go in and lock the door!

  2. Oh my goodness – that cliff house!! Rather like the idea of a hobbit house though. We could build one into our sloping ground here…

    Hope your heavy week goes smoothly, Marina 🙂

  3. These are all so striking, Marina Sofia! I’m fairly certain I wouldn’t want that cliffside home. But the one at the end of the garden path is really appealing. Hmmm….yes, I can see it.

  4. Arrrghh! The cliff house gives me vertigo just looking at the picture! I fear the only one of these that I’d like to live in is the first one – give me an old-fashioned chateau over a new-fangled architect’s dream any day. (Seriously hoping I didn’t sound too much like Prince Charles there…)

  5. The first one looks like a bug. *shudder*
    And the last one, oh dear, I’m sure I’d be too frightened to move around. Imagine the cliff crumbles…

Do share your thoughts!

