Friday Fun: Artists’ Studios

You’re allowed to laugh. The thought of me craving an artist’s studio is ludicrous, as I am profoundly ungifted at any kind of artistic endeavour. My clay ponies looked like dachshunds in primary school; in secondary school I used the eraser more frequently than the pencil (with predictable results, torn pages and tears). Art was the only class I ever failed. But I love looking at art and of course the light, airy artist’s studios, with their picturesque clutter, look very tempting. Even though I would probably have to tidy everything up first before I could start writing…

Light, light everywhere, and high ceilings, from passionvoyage.eu
Light, light everywhere, and high ceilings, from passionvoyage.eu
Cezanne's studio in Aix en Provence, from artistsandstudios.tumblr
Cezanne’s studio in Aix en Provence, from artistsandstudios.tumblr
Unknown artist's studio, from Reddit.
Unknown artist’s studio, from Reddit.
I prefer the more minimalist spaces, as you can see, from theinvisibledog.org
I prefer the more minimalist spaces, as you can see, from theinvisibledog.org
... but creative mess can be very endearing and inspiring as well, as in this Istanbul studio, from decoratorsnotebook.co.uk
… but creative mess can be very endearing and inspiring as well, as in this Istanbul studio, from decoratorsnotebook.co.uk
This is La Boheme romanticism, utterly beguiling - except that it's a miniature. From itmovesmemorelol.tumblr
This is La Boheme romanticism, utterly beguiling – except that it’s a miniature. From itmovesmemorelol.tumblr
The living area of Tove Jansson's studio, where she spent most of her time in Helsinki. From The Times.
The living area of Tove Jansson’s studio, where she spent most of her time in Helsinki. From The Times.

To my surprise, I seem to prefer wide open spaces rather than cosy, closed ones when writing. With reading, of course, it’s the other way round…

13 thoughts on “Friday Fun: Artists’ Studios”

  1. It has to be Tove Jansson’s for me, possibly because it looks more like a beautifully organised library. I’m with you in the art department, worse than useless but full of admiration for those who can do it.

  2. Oh, these are so lovely, Marina Sofia!! I do like the passionvoayage studio quite a lot, although Tovah Jansson’s is so alluring, too. And you should see the kind of stick figures I’ve drawn in my time…

  3. I love the Istanbul one – all that creative chaos. The Tove Jansson one is too tidy for me. It would make me feel anxious as if my thoughts had to be orderly which usually they aren’t!

  4. if you ever get a chance to go to Costa Brava do take a trip to Salvador Dali’s home and studio- it’s wacky just like the artist with a sofa shaped like large red lips and a huge stuffed bear

Do share your thoughts!

