Friday Fun: Time for Some More Home Libraries

‘Tis the season to hide away from reality and snuggle up in some beautiful home libraries, with a woollen blanket, a fireplace, a cup of tea or mulled wine, a cat purring and, mais bien sur! a book or two or three. Most of them feature a stair or ladder, because it really does enhance every library, don’t you think?

Using the wasted space above the doors, from visbeen.com
Using the wasted space above the doors, from visbeen.com
NoMad Spiral Staircase in Library, from Pinterest.
NoMad Spiral Staircase in Library, from Pinterest.
Plenty of room for lolling about and reading together. From home-designing.com
Plenty of room for lolling about and reading together. From home-designing.com
It's the leather sofas which get me every time... and what's with all those empty shelves? From homemydesign.com
It’s the leather sofas which get me every time… and what’s with all those empty shelves? From homemydesign.com
Why only on one wall? Still, teh atmospheric light filtering through the window is a nice touch. From homeozoic.com
Why only on one wall? Still, top kudos for multiple lighting effects… From homeozoic.com
That's what I'm talking about: cushions, plaid, sofa and books close to hand. From interiorexteriorideas.com
That’s what I’m talking about: cushions, plaid, sofa and books close to hand. From interiorexteriorideas.com
For the finale: the mother of all spiral staircases and a double-decker library. From houzz.com
For the finale: the mother of all spiral staircases and a double-decker library. From houzz.com

Some day, when I make my millions and convert my loft…

Meanwhile, a reminder that 100 years ago there were many cold and desperate soldiers huddled in the mud-filled trenches of Flanders. Happy Armistice Day, everyone!

From the Royal British Legion site.
From the Royal British Legion site.

 

 

17 thoughts on “Friday Fun: Time for Some More Home Libraries”

  1. We were out this week looking for a sofa bed for what will become my ‘room of one’s own’ (or a guest room depending on need). Now I’m thinking that gorgeous stripey, cushion-strewn chaise might fit the bill nicely. I’ll just have the screen cunningly positioned and hope that B might notice it as he passes….

    *sigh*

    1. I have got the Ikea armchair bed in my study and was the first to use it as a guestroom (when my parents were visiting and I gave them my bed). It was… OK, but not as cool as a chaise-longue. Keep on trying!

  2. Please have me over when you re-do your loft! Wonderful pics, Marina. I’m a bit envious of the people who own those places. Imagine having a space to just read? Imagine having a bolt at the door? One day…

      1. Then I’ll be too – I don’t think there’s such a big age gap between you and me. Maybe we could we old bookish ladies.

Do share your thoughts!

