Friday Fun: Window Seats

Last week, the window seat emerged as the clear winner of our ‘chairs for reading books’ competition. So here are a few to whet your appetite. And so that we don’t have to fight over just one! In my cold, draughty English house, the temptation of putting one right next to the radiator instead of next to a cold window is HUGE.

Plenty of cushions to lounge on, from Decorpad.com
Plenty of cushions to lounge on, from Decorpad.com
Now that's what I call storage space! And a view, too! From shelterness.com
Now that’s what I call storage space! And a view, too! From shelterness.com
The classical style, from Impressive Interior Design website.
The classical style, from Impressive Interior Design website.
The informal seaside look, from freshome.com
The informal seaside look, from freshome.com
For those who prefer a streamlined, contemporary style. From Pinterest.
For those who prefer a streamlined, contemporary style. Well, with that view, reading might be difficult… From Pinterest.
Contemporary needn't always mean minimalist. Add a bit more cushioning and this window seat featured on houzz.com has real potential...
Contemporary needn’t always mean minimalist. Add a bit more cushioning and this window seat featured on houzz.com has real potential…
Finally, for some very, very lucky kids, the Window Bed! From House Logic.
Finally, for some very, very lucky kids, the Window Bed! From House Logic.

 

26 thoughts on “Friday Fun: Window Seats”

  1. Oh, just lovely, Marina Sofia! How kind of you to give us all so many great window seats to choose from here. I’d go for the streamlined, contemporary set. That view’s to die for, and it does look comfortable. I’m just going to make myself a cup of coffee, grab my book, and be there soon…. 😉

  2. Haha! I laughed at your intro, since whenever I think of window seats the word that springs to mind is “Brrrrr!!” But I love that window bed! Who says it’s for kids? Why should they get the best stuff? 😉

    1. I have to admit: I’d forgotten how poorly insulated English homes are, even double glazing. I suppose, to be fair, the winters are milder on the whole than on the Continent, and that I am comparing to places like Switzerland, Austria, Finland, where they protect themselves well, but I find myself shivering the whole time. Wimp that I’ve become!

  3. Contemporary with the view! Wow! I had a townhouse once that had a window seat and because it was a south facing window it was too hot during the summer and sitting anywhere near a window in a frigid Minnesota winter is not pleasant (I tried though, oh how I tried!). I was so disappointed.

  4. I love the window seats. I could perhaps make one but a) I’d have to move the plants which have nowhere else to go, and b) I’d have to look out at a brick apartment building now being built across from the only window where I now get sunlight. So, won’t work out — but a woman can dream!

Do share your thoughts!

