Friday Fun: Christmassy Homes

Christmas and I are in a bit of a love-hate relationship. I used to get excited, of course, as a child, and I was lucky enough to live in Vienna, where the Advent period is an art form. But my parents were never big on flamboyant consumerism and hearty Ho-ho-hos, so I soon learnt to manage my expectations. Then, when I grew up and moved abroad, it became that time of year when all of my friends returned to their families and I was left alone with the dreary jingle-jangle of Christmas music on a loop blaring out of all shops. So I made the most of it when I started a family of my own, and learnt to love the season, as seen through my children’s joyous eyes. The past few years, however, it has been the season of cabin fever, constraints and complaints and this year will be the worst of the lot. [I tell myself that, if I expect the worst, it’s bound to surpass expectations and be … okay-ish.]

However, we can all love Christmas decorations, the smell of cinnamon and real fir, the crackle of log fires, the taste of mulled wine. It’s also the season when all kitsch is allowed and even honoured. Here are a few favourites, some more tasteful than others.

You can't beat the red and green colour scheme for seasonal cheer, from Blake-co.com
You can’t beat the red and green colour scheme for seasonal cheer, from Blake-co.com
Victorian nostalgia seems to predominate in most decorating magazines at this time of year, from Blake-co.com
Victorian nostalgia seems to predominate in most decorating magazines at this time of year, from Blake-co.com
Scandinavian-inspired interiors are always a winner, from Pinterest
Scandinavian-inspired interiors are always a winner, from Pinterest
The manor house in its more modern guise, from Country Living.
The manor house in its more modern guise, from Country Living.
Casually cool Scandinavian style again - perhaps too cool? From Interior Design Files.
Casually cool Scandinavian style again – perhaps too cool? From Interior Design Files.
Achingly modern, from Home Designing.
Achingly modern, from Home Designing.
An alternative fireplace, from freshome.com
An alternative fireplace, from freshome.com. But did a pheasant have to die for it?
I'll admit it - at this time of year, it's the cottagey rather than the minimalist style which appeals to me. From About Christmas.
I’ll admit it – at this time of year, it’s the cottagey rather than the minimalist style which appeals to me. From About Christmas.

Wherever you are, whatever you do, whomever you are with, and whether you celebrate Christmas or not, I wish you a very joyful and restful holiday season! Here’s to a far, far better 2017 for all of us!

 

 

15 thoughts on “Friday Fun: Christmassy Homes”

  1. I like the Blake one – It must be the name! Maybe I just like to imagine there’s a koala bear asleep on that chair! Happy Christmas to you and many thanks for the pleasure your blog has given me over the last year.

  2. Some of these are really lovely, Marina Sofia. My choice would be the modern home design, but they all feel really Christmas-y. I hope your Christmas goes really well, and I couldn’t agree more about 2017. Here’s to a much better year than this one has been.

  3. I like the second one too. There’s a house up the street from me that does a fantastic job on outside decorations. I’ve always wondered what they do inside as far as Xmas goes.

  4. I find most people have mixed feelings about Christmas, the whole show has often got out of hand in many places. But your photos are a reminder that it’s also a time to let our inner kitsch loose and go on a rampage – which I’m sure is good for the soul on some level 🙂 Thank you for your wishes, all the best to you, it’s going to be a good 2017!

  5. The top Scandi one does it best for me, I think – but they have an unfair advantage with the snow scene through the window. Pouring rain just doesn’t have the same appeal…

    Merry Christmas, MarinaSofia!

  6. Each of those pictures makes me happy in so many ways! I hope this year’s holidays went well though. I was moved by your story and I felt quite identified as well. I used to LOVE Christmas, my parents would call me ‘Christmas Spirit’, but the past three years have been difficult for one reason or another. I hope I can get my Christmas Spirit form back!

  7. A lovely post, MarinaSofia , and I hope your Christmas was better than you thought it might be. Now the place I wanted to be, from those pics, quaint more and more old-fashioned thing that I seem to be becoming, was the Victorian one. Makes me feel better about my sometimes sloppy house-keeping. A glorious roaring fire, squashy chairs, and what looks like a pristine snowy garden through the picture windows. Lots of temptation to wrap up well, and gambol (or tiptoe reverently through) the still winter landscape, and then FLING oneself down on the cushions in front of the fire, especially as I’m sure that, further back in the room, are library shelves with hundreds of delights. So I can snuggle down whilst the whoever-else-lives-there is making busy in the kitchen with the mull and the mincies. Now, if there was also a spinet, and the whoever-else-lived-there was a wizard with the spinet AND possessed of a beautiful voice, once they had brought in the wine and the pies, they could sing some traditional songs. Bliss. Could someone just come and put another log on the fire, I’m too relaxed to move………..

Do share your thoughts!

