Back in the Saddle with 2017 Reasons to Go, Go, Go!

Happy New Year to everyone! No sooner have we drawn a collective sigh of relief that the seemingly cursed 2016 is over, then we realise that 2017 carries the hangover of 2016’s unresolved problems plus bringing many new ones of its own.

The loss of so many cultural heroes has saddened me, but I wonder if some of  us are mourning something more than that: a loss of innocence, perhaps, and the triumph of cynicism and mediocrity. I haven’t felt this traumatised since the early 1990s in Romania, when the initial euphoria over the burial of the old world order degenerated into frustration and puzzlement as the new order refused – despite repeated additional chances we gave it – to show anything truly new or valuable.

My Christmas was surprisingly calm, even though it was a calm based on avoidance. The atmosphere was equally as indifferent and frosty as over the past 4-5 years, but this time it was not thwarted with dashed expectations. So I read a lot and ran my own programme of events (some by myself, some with the youngsters) without worrying about keeping the rest of the family fed, washed, educated and entertained (OK, I still had to do the first three, but I did it less obsessively than in previous years).

I know I should have some goals or resolutions for the New Year, and that sharing them here might mean I stand a better chance of actually achieving them. And yet, like every year, I have just the one resolution (or call it hope): that 2017 is going to be my best year yet, the year of changing and growing and learning… and finding the odd moments of contentment, peace and satisfaction.

Hope is the feeling we have that the feeling we have is not permanent. (Mignon Mclaughlin)

I have 2017 reasons to make the most of this next year. No, don’t worry, I won’t share them all with you! Merely the first two, the greatest of my reasons: two rapidly growing boys who deserve to know a happier, more optimistic, more successful, less resentful, more active, healthier mother than she has been over the past 6-7 years (for more than half of their lives).

wp_20160828_17_13_26_pro

 

33 thoughts on “Back in the Saddle with 2017 Reasons to Go, Go, Go!”

      1. There are times when they bug you and other times you just want to give them a. That’s what boys are….bugable but hugable. 🙂

    1. It was a hot day, but YS had just bought a woollen hat that he loved, so he was determined to wear it…
      Wishing you a very good and happy, healthy and productive New Year as well!

  1. So glad to hear you got through the Christmas period of enforced proximity with the estranged partner – you said in an earlier post it would be very difficult. Your boys will give you the strength to keep going i’m sure

    1. It was frosty indeed – inside and outside the house – just a few more days to survive and then we are out of the jungle – no, I mean the Antarctica (can’t get my metaphors mixed up!).

      1. I bet you have your escape tunnel already nearing completion, with the map turned to the right page and provisions at the ready for the journey. 🙂

    1. I do sometimes (often) berate myself for letting drop the reins with the boys because the last 6 years have been so tough. So whenever they refuse to do homework or play too many video games or misbehave, I blame it on my ‘absenteeism in parenting’ (even though I know the other parent should have done something as well or that they may be going through a stage regardless of my influence or that I overestimate my influence etc. etc.) My brain tells me all this, but my heart still blames myself.

      1. I’m afraid all those feelings are part and parcel of being a mother no matter what the circumstances or reality – feeling better in yourself is the best gift you can give them – and they will still do all of the above 😏

  2. I’m glad that your end of year went rather well considering the circumstances.
    I wish you the best for 2017. A new job, a new start and two healthy boys.
    Or as we say in France: Bonne année et bonne santé.

    1. Now if only I could find a job that combined my passion for reading with enough income to cover the house costs… here’s to eternal optimism! Bonne année to you too – and perhaps see you at Quais du Polar again? I think it might be cheaper than going to Harrogate…

      1. Well I’m not sure about high paying job and literature but one can hope.
        I hope to see you at Quais du Polar. It might be time for you to book a cheap flight to Lyon.

    1. One piece, if rather battered (especially with two days and nights full of migraine right at the end). Thank you for your good wishes, and here’s to better times ahead!

  3. You have put in so much in those words: the triumph of cynicism and mediocrity. But life must go on, shouldn’t it? I am sure your heart is where it should be. Happy New Year!

    1. Back in 1993/94, I was so disappointed with how things were turning out in my home country and looked to the Western democracies as beacons of stability and good sense. What am I supposed to think now?

  4. Here’s wishing you all the very best for 2017, MS. At the very least we expect publication of your novel, followed in short order by the Booker, the Orange, the Pulitzer and the Nobel.

    1. You read my thoughts! When I was about 8 years old I would embarrass my parents by telling all and sundry that I would be the first Nobel Prize Winner for Literature from Romania when I grew up. Not quite (I suppose Herta Muller qualifies for that, even if she wrote mainly in German).

  5. Happy New Year Marina… may you find 2017 more settled and a good balance of mixing motherhood with authorship… and of course when you do, please share the secret with the rest of us😜😘

  6. Hello Marina, if anything, you’re off to a calm and thoughtful start to the year. I find your comparison to post-fall of old order in Eastern Europe interesting. Indeed a loss of innocence. Cynicism and mediocrity? Outright Stupidity is more like it. But as the problem is us humans, the solution is also in each and every one of us. Wishing you a 2017 of contentment, peace and satisfaction!

    1. I’ve been ranting about the failure to make significant economic and social changes following the economic crisis of 2008 – that was our big missed moment, I fear! However, it is what it is and you are right, of course. It’s all too easy to feel powerless and crushed by a system, but we can still make individual decisions and take action.

  7. Happy New Year Marina, a lovely post – honest, thoughtful and ultimately (in my view) uplifting. Your boys are fortunate to have such a mother, even if you may not always see it that way!

Do share your thoughts!

