Friday Fun: More Writers at Work

Writers in the past clearly had enough money for huge rooms of their own (especially the men). What about more modern writers from around the world?

Amelie Nothomb doesn't seem to mind the chaos: she reliably produces one book per year. From Lalibre.be
Amelie Nothomb doesn’t seem to mind the chaos: she reliably produces one book per year. From Lalibre.be
Anais Nin seems to have prefered a tidier style. From Silver Birch Press.
Anais Nin seems to have prefered a tidier style. From Silver Birch Press.
Julian Barnes musing at his desk, from New York Times.
Julian Barnes musing at his desk, from New York Times.
Haruki Murakami has Japanese minimalism down pat. From harukimurakami.com
Haruki Murakami has Japanese minimalism down pat. From harukimurakami.com
Jane Smiley is so overwhelmed by books, I am not sure where she can write. From NY Times.
Jane Smiley is so overwhelmed by books, I am not sure where she can write. From NY Times.
Roald Dahl's famous writing hut, from Dahl Museum and Storycentre.
Roald Dahl’s famous writing hut, from Dahl Museum and Storycentre.
The dining table for Marguerite Duras, from Clube de leitores.
The dining table for Marguerite Duras, from Clube de leitores.
Jung Chang likes to surround herself with treasured mementoes, from Pinterest.
Jung Chang likes to surround herself with treasured mementoes, from Pinterest.
An airy delight: Jeanette Winterson in her rustic study, from NY Times.
An airy delight: Jeanette Winterson in her rustic study, from NY Times.
41 thoughts on “Friday Fun: More Writers at Work”

    1. When I’ve got a deadline for a course I’m preparing, plus other things going on, my study might end up looking like the Nothomb one, but on a permanent basis it would stress me out too much!

  1. it looks like we all want squatter’s rights on Winterson’s. I know what you mean about Dahl’s though. it was the only one which interested me – till We got to the I saved the best for last.

    1. English people usually have wall-to-wall carpeting in their houses, so they do go barefoot quite often, but perhaps less so on floorboards. I was brought up of course in countries where parquet flooring or tiles were the norm, so we always had slippers or those cosy fluffy socks with anti-slip marks. (Is there an official name for that?)

      1. I think they might be called cosy fluffy socks with anti slip marks (I don’t know the name, but I know what you mean – except, slipper socks, perhaps)

        As a floorboarder my self, I have a fine collection of these to match the colour of my clothes of the day!

  2. I think my favourite is Winterson’s followed closely by Chang’s. I need my desk to be clear but I want lots of space for books cases and anything else I may need. Love the glimpse of authors worlds.

  3. Amélie Nothomb’s writing room is a much smaller version of my studio. Seeing someone else’s disorder makes me more aware of my own and I wish I could just pull a chain to flush it away and start all over again.

  4. I wish I’d like one of the smart gorgeous ones, but in truth I always work best in chaos whatever I’m doing, so the top one would be for me. Somehow tidyness empties my mind of all productive thought. (Which is a really great excuse for not tidying, BTW… 😉 )

    1. Isn’t it fascinating how different we all are! I would get a bit of a brain freeze if all around me there is chaos – or at least if I were to start something new I would!

  5. It’s always fun to see these. I guess I’m the only one who isn’t into Winterson’s. Too rustic for my taste. But way better than Nothomb. Chang’s appeals the most but I think I liked those in your first post more.

    1. Although I usually prefer light and airy, I have to admit that when it comes to libraries and studies, I have a bit of a ‘thing’ about Victorian style, or gentlemen’s club, or leather and darker colours, or whatever you like to call it. So yes, perhaps last week’s would be better for me too…

  6. Years ago the Saturday Guardian Literature Section used to do a profile every week on a writers room with a large photo and accompanying article on their habits, I loved it, seeing into their space and reading about what they prefer to surround themselves with. When I visited London once a month I always flew back on a Saturday and loved the ritual of picking up the paper at the airport and collecting that section, haven’t done that for years, it’s so not the same reading online. That Saturday section was pure delight.

    1. I loved that as well! To be honest, it’s what gave me the idea for this Friday Fun. I started off with writers’ rooms and then libraries and chateaux followed…

  7. There’s hope for me too if Nothomb and Smiley manage to produce their books in the midst of all their chaos 🙂 I dream of actually seeing the wood on my large IKEA corner desk…

Do share your thoughts!

