The Writer’s Eternal Promise

Tomorrow and Ever After

wp_20170202_16_36_04_pro

Tomorrow I will sit demurely

wrestle words down to the ground

with a flicker of my lashes

flash of sopweed from the Bard.

 

Tomorrow my characters will come alive:

fight each other, bicker, woo.

Plotholes will hang their grimey faces,

poems stop barking at the moon.

 

Tomorrow I’ll use post-its in coloured gradations,

fill spreadsheets and schedules, submit with method.

Each sapling of wisdom, each stray pun I will corral

till the gravity of the day after arrives with a thud.

 

But maybe not just yet. I will be off to Geneva this coming weekend for the Meet the Agent event which I helped organise, then delivering some training to a UN organisation (my freelance work still seems very much in demand, even if no one wants my talents on a more permanent basis), also wrangling with the French tax office, who still don’t seem to have understood the messages I’ve been sending since August 2016. If I ever do finish my WIP, it will be dedicated to them for their ‘contribution’.

7 thoughts on “The Writer’s Eternal Promise”

  1. I love this way of looking at what writers swear to themselves that they’ll do, Marina Sofia. I think we’ve all been there. Life just has a way of getting in the way of… life for all of us. I hope you have a wonderful time in Geneva – sounds fabulous! And I wish you well getting you point across to the French tax office. What a nightmare those things can be!

  2. Thank you, Margot, let’s just hope there are no more last minute changes to the plans for the weekend event, as there have been quite a few curve balls (always the case)…

Do share your thoughts!

