One Thousand Ways to Say I Love You

What better way to celebrate a thousand blog posts since February 2012 than by sharing memorable thousands I have seen elsewhere?

  1. 1001 Nights – one of the best collection of stories anywhere – the original page-turner
Illustration from 1001 Nights, from Book Drum

2. A burger with Thousand Island dressing (which I pretended to like in my youth, but time is too short for me to ever befriend mayonnaise).

3. Will I finally read A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini, about an intergenerational friendship between Afghan women, a book about which I’ve heard many good things? (Why oh why am I so reluctant to read bestsellers though?)

4. Certainly not a bestseller, but this looks very interesting: One Thousand White Women: The Journal of May Dodd by Jim Fergus. It’s based on a true story about pioneer women who, under the auspices of the U.S. government, travel to the western prairies in 1875 to intermarry among the Cheyenne Indians, in an effort to assimilate them.

5. Admire the art project with anthropological flair: One Thousand ShacksTracey Snelling has created a multimedia sculptural installation depicting shantytowns from around the world.

6. 1000 Meere (or 1000 Oceans) – a song by German band Tokio Hotel. They’ve recorded this song in both English and German and I love the difference in voice timbre when singing in the two languages.

7. Anne of the Thousand Days – a film I loved in my childhood about the ill-fated second wife of Henry VIII, with Richard Burton and Genevieve Bujold.

8. New film just out: One Thousand Ropes directed by New Zealand-Samoan film director Tusi Tamasese has been presented at the Berlin Film Festival. This seems to be a film for our times, questioning notions of masculinity and toughness in a traditional society.

9. One for One Thousand literary magazine (1:1000) is open for submissions. They are looking for 1,000-word stories or narrative essays inspired by a photo, and will accept literary, genre, and experimental work, as long as the writing is quality.

10. Above all, a thousand thanks and kisses to all of you who have read, shared, commented, reblogged and simply been there for me over the past five years.

From freepik.com

Finally, because today is International Women’s Day, I just wanted to link up to a few posts from previous years celebrating inspirational role models.

2015 post about personal heroines

2016 post about more heroines

Inspiring women and their one weakness

 

 

44 thoughts on “One Thousand Ways to Say I Love You”

  1. Congrats on 1000 posts – what an achievement!

    What a great way to celebrate a thousand – lovely idea – I can recommend A Thousand Splendid Suns 🙂

    1. And congratulations to you too – it has its peaks and troughs, but I couldn’t imagine not being without the richness and diversity and people which blogging has revealed to me over the past 5 years.

    1. When I told my son, he thought I was a bit mad. ‘That’s nearly a post every 2 days, Mum…’ Maybe he is starting to wonder if I’ve been neglecting them.

  2. Congrats on this mighty milestone, MS! And may there be many thousands more. As Margot implies, we’re all of us the better for having you around.

  3. Congrats on 1000 posts! Keep ’em coming! 😀 Goodness, One Thousand White Women sounds fascinating – history has all sorts of odd little corners, doesn’t it?

  4. Thrilled for your thousand! We want more….hundreds and thousands! Ha!
    (I have also missed A Thousand Splendid Suns. We are the reading in isolationists….or something 🙂 )
    Loving your work xx

    1. Don’t know about clever, but I know that if there weren’t roughly 1000 people who care about my posts and tweets online, this blog would probably have died a while ago. (Online diaries are NOT a good idea).

  5. Wow! Congratulations! I have read only a fraction of your 1000 posts and have enjoyed every one of them; you always leave me with something to think about, Marina. And such a lovely post to mark the occasion. I’ll stick my neck out here and say you haven’t missed too much by not reading A Thousand Splendid Suns. I was disappointed – a result no doubt of the hype that surrounds a bestseller. One Thousand White Women is already on my tbr: it sounds fascinating!

    Raising a hypothetical glass in salute of your achievement and looking forward to a thousand more!

  6. Congratulation, on reaching this milestone of 1 000 posts, it takes a lot of work and energy, to reach this. Will never look at 1001 Nights, in the same way, again, after your brief description of it. Back to poetry grindstone, need to figure out a title for my latest poem, the hardest part of writing, for me. Sigh.

  7. Great post and thanks for these 1000 posts. I enjoy following your literary adventures in reading, writing and living around books.

    Looking forward to the next 1000. See you soon.

    PS : A Thousand Splendid Suns is still sitting on my shelf. A gift frome someone. Not sure I’ll ever get to it.

Do share your thoughts!

