Envy, 3 a.m.

I know I always pick on Facebook, but I really don’t like the showing-offiness of that platform. I haven’t completely abandoned it, because it did help me to reconnect with some long-lost school friends, but I visit it as little as possible.

From Cosmopolitan.

Afright from a nightmare where my mother once more

waxes satirical about my weight,

I shake off the sludge of family binds and turn

to my friends in the blue glow of pre-dawn screens.

That’s the way we do it now: no calling, no comfort

of voice. Mere updates and pictures of lives

manicured like a Wimbledon lawn.

But, curated or not, I still care about my mates

or so I think                 until I see

pictures of a party with all my favourite things

tailor-made for my friend and me.

 

Except I never received an invite.

11 thoughts on “Envy, 3 a.m.”

  1. You express it all so well, Marina Sofia. ‘Facebook lives’ often do look perfect, even though we know that they really aren’t. In fact, a recent study I read about suggests that too much time on FB puts one at risk for symptoms of stress and depression. It’s not hard to see why.

  2. Definitely one of the downsides of facebook. I don’t prowl it, much, except when the hubby watches sports or something I’m not too engaged in–though my poems post automatically.
    I loved this:

    manicured like a Wimbledon lawn.

    But, curated or not…

  3. Such a true post, MarinaSofia. I just got caught in one of these Facebook obsessing phases last week and it’s not a good place to be, or a healthy one. I sometimes wonder if it’d be easier to delete my account, but it does come handy for work purpouses so…

Do share your thoughts!

