WWWednesday 15th March: What Are You Reading?

WWW Wednesday is a meme hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words. It’s open for anyone to join in and is a great way to share what you’ve been reading! All you have to do is answer three questions and share a link to your blog in the comments section of Sam’s blog.

The three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?

What did you recently finish reading?

What do you think you’ll read next?

A similar meme is run by Lipsyy Lost and Found where bloggers share This Week in Books #TWiB.

Currently reading:

Emma Flint: Little Deaths

From the blurb: It’s 1965 in a tight-knit working-class neighborhood in Queens, New York, and Ruth Malone–a single mother who works long hours as a cocktail waitress–wakes to discover her two small children, Frankie Jr. and Cindy, have gone missing. Later that day, Cindy’s body is found in a derelict lot a half mile from her home, strangled. Ten days later, Frankie Jr.’s decomposing body is found. Immediately, all fingers point to Ruth. As police investigate the murders, the detritus of Ruth’s life is exposed. Seen through the eyes of the cops, the empty bourbon bottles and provocative clothing which litter her apartment, the piles of letters from countless men and Ruth’s little black book of phone numbers, make her a drunk, a loose woman–and therefore a bad mother.

Harriet Lerner: Why Won’t You Apologize?

From the blurb: Lerner challenges the popular notion that forgiveness is the only path to peace of mind and helps those who have been injured to resist pressure to forgive too easily. She explains what drives both the non-apologizer and the over-apologizer, and why the people who do the worst things are the least able to own their misdeeds. With her trademark humour and wit, Lerner offers a joyful and sanity-saving guide to setting things right.

Just read:

Louise Penny: The Beautiful Mystery – Gamache and Beauvoir are not in Three Pines this time, but in a remote monastery awash with Gregorian chants. Comfort reading for me, as I love everything that Penny writes.

Antonin Varenne: Retribution Road – rip-roaring adventure, think Taboo with more international travelling and a serial killer. Varenne will be at Quais du Polar in Lyon this year.

Next in line:

Rachel Cusk: Transit – good timing or too close to life?

In the wake of family collapse, a writer and her two young sons move to London. The process of upheaval is the catalyst for a number of transitions—personal, moral, artistic, practical—as she endeavors to construct a new reality for herself and her children.

Thomas Enger: Cursed – now this sounds like perfect escapism, I;ve been saving it up for comfort reading.

When Hedda Hellberg fails to return from a retreat in Italy, where she has been grieving for her recently dead father, her husband discovers that his wife’s life is tangled in mystery. Hedda never left Oslo, the retreat has no record of her and, what’s more, she appears to be connected to the death of an old man, gunned down on the first day of the hunting season in the depths of the Swedish forests. Henning Juul becomes involved in the case when his ex-wife joins in the search for the missing woman, and the estranged pair find themselves enmeshed both in the murky secrets of one of Sweden’s wealthiest families, and in the painful truths surrounding the death of their own son.

So, what are your reading plans for this week? And have you read any of the above?

22 thoughts on “WWWednesday 15th March: What Are You Reading?”

  1. Very much looking forward to Little Deaths. The premise and the setting are both very attractive. I’m currently reading Will Ashon’s Strange Labyrinth which I wasn’t at all sure about when I picked it up but it’s wonderful, a magpie’s jewel box of a book all about Epping Forest.

  2. I’ve just finished reading Death Comes for the Archbishop by Willa Cather. My mother loved Willa Cather but I’d never got round to reading her. I loved it as well and now have another one by her – The Professor’s House to read.

    1. I’ve got mixed feelings about Willa Cather, liked some and abandoned others (or never really picked them up). I think Death Comes for the Archbishop is one of the best, though.

  3. I don’t have a blog, so I’ll just say that I’m reading Eva Dolan’s 4th Hate Crimes Unit mystery, “Watch Her Disappear.” I read Zadie Smith’s “Swing Time,” before this and overall liked it. And I will next read Margot Kinberg’s “Past Tense,” followed by Fred Vargas’ “A Climate of Fear.”

  4. I hear you’re in for a good experience with the Enger, Marina Sofia. And the Flint sounds like a power-packed sort of book – the sort that disturbs and draws in at the same time. I’ll be interested in your review on that one.

  5. Haha – I like that your idea of comfort reading involves people being gunned down and people grieving over dead children. Here, have some chocolate… 😉

  6. I haven’t read any of the above although Little Deaths is on my TBR and I am hoping to get to it this month but I’m not sure I will! Like you I believe in having some good old murders on the bedside to help me unwind – In fact I think my heavy consumption of murderers keeps me from committing my own!! I am joking of course says she who is reading a book all about poisons!

Do share your thoughts!

