Friday Fun: Chateau de Montigny

Last Friday there was news that some original Goya etchings had been found in a French chateau as they were going through their extensive library, probably conducting an audit for the first time in generations. (We all know how out of control our book buying habits can get, right?) What amused me most is that the report said the name of the chateau was Montigny. It is such a common place name in France that I can do a whole Friday Fun post with nothing but chateaux of that name. [Unless otherwise specified, all the pictures are from the websites of the chateau in question.]

Chateau de Montigny le Gannelon in the Eure-et-Loire department, which misled me into believing this was the place of the find… but no, there is another with the same name in the same department, because people are not very imaginative…
Chateau de Montigny sur l’Hallue near the Somme, from chateau-fort-manoir-chateau.eu
Chateau de Montigny sur Aube in Burgundy, with magnificent orchards.
Chateau Montigny sur Avre, belonging to the Laval family, where the etchings were found at the back of a shelf, behind other books. Well, doesn’t everyone double or triple shelve their books?
Chateau de Montigny les Arsures looks like it might be the oldest one here. From Panoramio.
Chateau le Bretonneux in Montigny, in contrast, seems the newest.
A more modest proposal: Chateau de Montigny, la Fresnay sur Chedouet in Normandy.

 

20 thoughts on “Friday Fun: Chateau de Montigny”

  1. I’ve always wondered what it might be like to go through a chateau library, Marina Sofia. Those homes have such wonderful books at times. I like the Normandy chateau very much. Yes, curling up there with some great books sounds lovely!

    1. I heard of a freelance librarian whose consulting job was to go through the libraries of magnificent estates and manor houses (in the UK, though, I believe, not France), organise and catalogue the books. Sounds quite blissful to me!

      1. I think many of us would be queuing up for that job…………Perhaps a merry band of bookie bloggers could be hired to work their magic – only owners of the most salubrious and tastefully decorated chateaux need apply for our services, and each library MUST be sufficiently supplied with enough chaises longues for our numbers…..

  2. Sigh, I’m afraid I’m one with your other contributor. All I’m likely to find behind the one bookshelf deep enough to double shelf is a lot of dust and a lot of cat hairs. If I’m lucky, the odd 5p piece. I’m pretty sure Goya never stayed here, and it is equally unlikely that anyone with the wherewithal to have an original Goya etching ever did either……I’m terribly tempted to dig up the floorboards now, you never know, do you?

  3. Oops, I just checked back ‘your other contributor’ with the poor house cleaning skills is the lovely madame bibi. I’m so cheered that such an amusing and clever blogger should be as averse to shelves scrubbed and dusted to within an inch of their lives at very regular intervals (hence, no dust, no cat hair) as I am. Clearly, Madame Bibi uses her time for better things, reading, amusing and thought provoking us, and the sourcing of excellent gifs for our delectation and delight. I shall let the dust and the fur gather quietly……..

  4. Ooh, the top one! The top one! That’s pretty much my ideal of what a chateau should look like, with those cone things on top of the… er… things! (You can tell I need to brush up on knowledge of architecture, can’t you… 😉 )

Do share your thoughts!

