New Take on Unforgettable (Poetry)

Like honey melting on your tongue… the delicious sounds of Nat King Cole singing Unforgettable.

With apologies for subverting those lovely words and heavenly voice, here is a poem which I wrote with that music (and that landscape) in the background. I’m linking it up to dVerse Poets for the Open Link Night.

Fallen trees, from creeklife.com

Incompatible…

… that’s what we are…

We never danced in rhythm, it’s true,
no ballroom twirls or tango glottal stops for you
suffering in brief acquiescence
for the rewards at the end.

You were fast and harsh, I fell for you
out of nostalgia for my previous dance partner
the tall, dark, unattainable one.
So we came together
went out together
grew apart together.

All the art you didn’t see, all the music you made me switch off.
All the books you didn’t read, all the video games I had to watch.

No one ever changes, they say,
but I know I sprout daily
in all directions.
It would only be a matter of time
before we entwined once more into fresh landscapes
I whispered to myself, oh wistful, oh longing.

But now…

all the forks in forest paths we didn’t take,
all the branches we didn’t climb
all the logs we hid behind
until we jumped over them and stopped caring.

You squeezed the music out of heavenly spheres,
you sapped neutrinos of their poetry.
robbed dark matter of its mystery,
tested me on the law of gravity.

Twenty years I’ve listened to you drone
like the exhaust of those Bugattis you admire so much.

And now I sit and ogle at men twenty years younger.

As if life ever gave one second chances.

29 thoughts on “New Take on Unforgettable (Poetry)”

  1. You really do capture the soul of incompatibility here, Marina Sofia! And when you run into that, sprouting into different directions doesn’t always help… This is fabulous! And thanks for reminding me of the lovely song, too.

  2. You have been missed. and yes, life does give one second and third chances. I know from experience. and he is 10 years younger! not twenty but close. I love the mixture of bitterness in this along with anger, the growing apart. sounds like you gave a lot more than you received.

    1. I’m naming no names! But I did have dinner with some girlfriends a month ago and we spent a pleasant evening drooling over some fine young actors (even the happily married ones, or perhaps especially those).

  3. I love what you’ve done with the song! I especially like:
    ‘We never danced in rhythm, it’s true,
    no ballroom twirls or tango glottal stops for you’
    and
    ‘You squeezed the music out of heavenly spheres,
    you sapped neutrinos of their poetry.
    robbed dark matter of its mystery,
    tested me on the law of gravity’.

  4. A painful, but also nicely acerbic poem, MarinaSofia, and it was good to have Nat giving us the needed illusion of better times.

    He makes singing like that seem utterly effortless and natural. why aren’t my vocal chords like that?

      1. It’s the gift I think I would most have liked, a singing voice that appears to pour, and overflow, without push, without strain, without any apparent effort or impedence, and, whatever the subject matter being sung about, brings the listener JOY that human voice can do this. It’s such a lovely video because it also shows a generosity in the heart of the singer, as well as the generosity we hear

  5. I like the dark and selfish side of this love imprisonment Marina ~ This is my favorite part:

    You squeezed the music out of heavenly spheres,
    you sapped neutrinos of their poetry.
    robbed dark matter of its mystery,
    tested me on the law of gravity.

  6. Oh Geez. This is so damn to the mark! Ugh….I had a very visceral response to your excellent, evocative poem. Years ago, a woman told me that down the road her husband and she would lead separate lives. I couldn ‘t then believe it. I do now. When a poem, verse makes your heart sit up and pay attention, you are hitting all cylinders. You hit all the cylinders.

  7. Woot, woot–the combat of opposites. I so understand, and yet there can be certain balance in those kind of relationships. What is wonderful is when the 2 can blend. I love
    You squeezed the music out of heavenly spheres,
    you sapped neutrinos of their poetry.
    robbed dark matter of its mystery,
    tested me on the law of gravity.
    Because, truly, there is poetry in science if we look for it–and vice versa.
    Really enjoyed the take on the song, too.

    1. I am sure a balance is possible if each feels the other ‘side’ completes their one-sidedness and both languages/worlds are given equal voice. What is sad is when each side insists that only their worldview is valid (and that says so much about present-day politics that I will stop right here).

  8. You squeezed the music out of heavenly spheres,
    you sapped neutrinos of their poetry…. that can’t be good… incompatibility that has a negative effect can be a soul crusher.

  9. Ooh this is absolutely exquisitely penned 😀 especially adore; “You squeezed the music out of heavenly spheres, you sapped neutrinos of their poetry. robbed dark matter of its mystery, tested me on the law of gravity.”

  10. This is so melancholy. I think some differences in a relationship are good if each is willing to stretch to try the things the other likes. But sometimes there’s just nothing in common and that’s where hope for second chances grows.

  11. What an incredible poem. It says everything and conveys deep-seated emotions.
    And, I will add here, I find that aging only adds more ogling at young, handsome men.
    I’ll be watching TV or a movie and all of a sudden, the attractiveness of a young actor will hit me.
    I watched a mediocre movie with Clark Gable and Gene Tierney last weekend from decades ago. As bad as it was, I couldn’t stop looking at them, especially him. Oh, woe is me. But it’s all in fun.
    And, as far as worldviews, given the political craziness over here in the States, I’ll say I know what worldview doesn’t work! The one that’s being enacted right here and some European countries. I’d like the planet to thrive, not be destroyed by any means, and for people to be treated respectfully, regardless of country of origin, religion, etc.

Do share your thoughts!

