Friday Fun: More Writers with Magnificent Homes

We can never get enough of the homes and workplaces which inspired famous writers, can we? Here are some truly enviable ones from all over the world.

Tennessee Williams stayed at this windmill on the Stony Brook campus and wrote a play. From Long Island Press.
Nietzche House in Sils Maria, Switzerland, from NietzcheGesellschaft.de
Rimbaud’s house in Harar, Ethiopia. After he gave up writing. Maybe he had a point, after all. From 3roadblog.wordpress.com
Gogol’s stately home in Moscow, from freefortourists.com
Tolstoy’s country estate Yasnaya Polyana, from Pinterest.
Gore Vidal’s legendary clifftop house on the Amalfi Coast, Italy. From Architectural Digest.
Sir Walter Scott’s Abbotsford House, on the Scottish Borders. From e-architect.com

 

27 thoughts on “Friday Fun: More Writers with Magnificent Homes”

    1. Yes, I saw that link and counted all the change down the back of my sofa, but couldn’t cough up the required amount! 😉
      Thank you for that – all interested parties should visit that link for the dazzling views and the terrace as well.

  1. These are all wonderful, Marina Sofia! I think I’d go for Tolstoy’s place, myself. But they’re all so impressive. I’m not sure about living in the Vidal place. I do wonder about vertigo…

    1. I think Tolstoy’s came with a few hundred ‘souls’ as well, although he probably freed them later on. I don’t think I could cope with serfdom… even on the landlord side of things.

  2. Oh this is very hard, and I am feeling, clearly, VERY greedy. I have to go for Sir Walter’s, Gore’s (for when I am at my MOST reclusive and reflective, not to mention, perfectly stationary. I’d hate to get an urge to dance and throw the doors open…,Tolstoy’s AND Nietzche’s. One each week, surely that takes care of the month of May, with the odd day between, travelling from one to another. But I will need someone to do all my unpacking and packing for me, and, obviously get all the food shopping done. I’m about to set up my worldwide online food orders. I think a tea-party on the final day of each visit would be good. You are all, of course, invited, and I shall slip away, mid afternoon, to travel on to the next delectable accommodation, leaving my guests to do the washing up……………. Just as long as no one throws me off Villa Vidal, fed up with being left to clear up AGAIN

  3. the windmill is calling to me – yes the others are more grand but if I were a writer I’d want to be somewhere a bit more cosy than that Walter Scott mansion

  4. I think I’d be distracted by too many things. Worrying about maintenance and cleaning. The windmill looks manageable, but wouldn’t the blades (I think that’s what they’re called?) turning make too much of a racket?

    1. Gogol was from a very privileged background – as were many of the Russian writers of the 19th century. That’s what happens when there was little to no professional middle class for centuries… and the serfs were often not educated at all.

  5. These are not the garrets that artists traditionally starved in, are they?? I quite fancy an estate in Russia, but think of the cleaning. So I shall go for the windmill, I think. The cliff house gives me vertigo just to look at it…

    1. I am sure some starving could be arranged in each of those houses – probably because the price of the upkeep would not allow much pocket money for cheese and chocolate.

  6. I like Vidal’s house and the setting on the Amalfi Coast, despite my fear of heights. It’s such a beautiful place.
    I’m trying to figure out how people got in and out of the house and think that there must be elaborate staircases that wind down from the top of the cliffs and into the doors. But everyone inside the house would have to be so careful opening doors and windows.
    One slight case of vertigo and disaster could happen.

    1. If you look at the estate agents’ presentation of the Vidal house, with additional pictures, you will see that it is not quite as narrow and dangerous as that picture seems to indicate, so much easier to get in and out. Nevertheless, a perfect setting for a crime novel, don’t you think?
      http://tinyurl.com/kcozf6x

Do share your thoughts!

