WWWednesday: What Are You Reading? – 16th August

WWW Wednesday is a meme hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words. It’s open for anyone to join in and is a great way to share what you’ve been reading! All you have to do is answer three questions and share a link to your blog in the comments section of Sam’s blog.

The three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?

What did you recently finish reading?

What do you think you’ll read next?

A similar meme is run by Lipsyy Lost and Found where bloggers share This Week in Books #TWiB.

Current:

Ileana Vulpescu: Arta Compromisului (The Art of Compromise) – a Romanian writer for #EU27Project, although I can’t really claim her for #WITMonth, as she hasn’t been translated into English

Chris Whitaker: All the Wicked Girls – to be reviewed soon on Crime Fiction Lover. I loved his previous book Tall Oaks, but this one is quite different, although it still depicts small-town America.

Finished:

Svetlana Alexievich: The Unwomanly Face of War: An Oral History of Women in World War II (transl. Pevear & Volokhonsky) – another wonderful choice for #WITMonth, this is oral history at its most riveting and poignant. Such strong women, but the scars are there. Review to follow.

Elena Varvello: Can You Hear Me? – a perfect fit for #WITMonth and #EU27Project

 

Next:

Mohsin Hamid: Exit West – this one doesn’t fit into any of my reading plans, but I saw the book at the library and I’d better read it before I need to return it. Besides, I can never resist a story about refugees. Longlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2017.

Margaret Millar: Collected Millar (Vanish in an Instant, Wives and Lovers, Beast in View, An Air that Kills, The Listening Walls) – this is for a feature I’ll be writing for Classics in September for Crime Fiction Lover, reviewing the work and legacy of Margaret Millar and suggesting the top five reads if you are new to her excellent suspense novels. The real and inimitable creator of domestic noir.

Have you read any of the above? And what are you currently reading or planning to read? Do share in the comments below. You know I am such a nosey parker!

32 thoughts on “WWWednesday: What Are You Reading? – 16th August”

    1. I’ve just started and am a little puzzled by the apparently unrelated events taking place elsewhere in the world… We’ll see if it all makes sense in the end.

  1. I am currently reading my way through the Guardian’s Not the Booker shortlist. I still have a few of the other books I set myself to read in August to complete – Five to One by Chris Chalmers and Dance by the Canal by Kerstin Hensel (translated from the German by Jen Calleja). I am also waiting for The Squeeze by Lesley Glaister to be delivered, which I had planned to read this month but may now have to bump into September. I haven’t read any of the books you list. I love that we select such different titles with just a few crossovers yet seem impressed by similar literature.

    1. I’ve heard about Lesley Glaister’s book – given its subject matter (Romania after the fall of Communism and a girl being trafficked), I want to read it too. But I’m afraid I might get too het up at any inaccuracies, which is perhaps not quite fair!

    1. My goodness, reading it tears strips off you! Perhaps not the most soothing reading in troubled times, but it certainly helps to put things into perspective. Talk about real hardship!

  2. I requested Exit West before it came out on NetGalley and got turned down which made me determined not to read it (sour grapes, I know!). But now it’s been longlisted I might have to revisit that decision. But I’m put off a bit by the mixed reviews. I might wait to see what you think!

  3. Currently reading : Petrograd 1917 and Russian Emigre Short Stories
    Just finished: War and Peace, Colette
    Next Up : Who knows!!!!

    Very interested in Margaret Millar – I keep hearing such good things about her!

  4. You have a varied group of books there, Marina Sofia. They’re all appealing in their own way, too. I’m especially interested in the Alexievich (I’m looking forward to your review), the Whitaker and the Millar. I’ve read a few things of Millar’s but not enough!

  5. Just finished The Blinds by Adam Sternberg which is probably the most unusual book I’ve read this year. Currently reading Hoodoo Harry by Joe Lansdale. Not sure what’s next.

      1. I think you would really like The Blinds. It’s very unusual. I had a couple of open questions when the book ended, but the story is really good

  6. Did you see that someone just optioned Exit West for either movie or television? As you read it, you will have to see how well it will translate to screen.

  7. The Unwomanly Face of War and Exit West both look fascinating. I’ve added both to my list of books to read. Thanks for sharing them!

  8. Ah, good to hear you enjoyed The Unwomanly Face of War. It’s next up on my factual list so should be reading it in a couple of weeks. I’ll be looking forward to your full review.

  9. I just rushed through Michael Connelly’s first book in the Renee Ballard series, “The Late Show.” Excellent police procedural, feisty, independent, very driven woman police investigator who surfs and lives on a beach.
    I am reading a few books at the same time: Bel Canto by Ann Patchett, and I See You by Clare MacIntosh.
    However, I may drop them temporarily to read Emma Viskic’s second book which just arrived from Oz or The Right Side, by Spencer Quinn.
    I’m trying to read myself through the horrible events in the States — although some good things are happening, too. So distraction and entertainment are what I need.

    1. It’s hard to stay away from the news, isn’t it? Sometimes reading books just doesn’t seem enough, but it’s better than hand-wringing over things we can’t do.
      Good choice of books though!

  10. looking forward to hearing your thoughts on Women in World War II – I love oral history.
    For me my www would read
    Just finished: A Room of Ones Own by Virginia Woolf
    Currently reading: Hogs Back Mystery by Freeman Wills Crofts – one of the british library crime series
    Next up – probably The History of the Kelly Gang by Peter Carey but that could change

    1. I just reviewed it today – see the next post after this one. It was brilliant. I do like A Room of One’s Own. A real classic, meant so much to me when I was 17 or so.

  11. Well, friends marched in Charlottesville and pitched in and helped people who were injured in the car crash or by tear gas or mace or who were punched. I am not fatalistic. Because I can’t travel to join them, I am there in spirit wherever those ugly people raise their nazi flags. I can sign friends’ Facebook pages and offer support. And I can make donations to their causes or bail funds.
    I think people over here, especially youth, are determined to counter them, and that encompasses those of many political identities and affiliations. People are angry at this resurgence of the worst elements of society and are standing up. Has to happen.
    I am thankful and have gratitude to those doing this, especially young people.

Do share your thoughts!

