WWWednesday: What Are You Reading? – 13 Sep 2017

WWW Wednesday is a meme hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words. It’s open for anyone to join in and is a great way to share what you’ve been reading! All you have to do is answer three questions and share a link to your blog in the comments section of Sam’s blog.

The three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?

What did you recently finish reading?

What do you think you’ll read next?

A similar meme is run by Lipsyy Lost and Found where bloggers share This Week in Books #TWiB.

Current:

Miklós Bánffy: They Were Counted – for #EU27Project and because it is about Transylvania just before, during and after WW1. Bánffy was a politician as well as a writer born in Transylvania, and he is nostalgic but also scathing about the Hungarian aristocracy. It is a massive tome (and it’s just the first of a trilogy), so I think it should keep me quiet for months to come.

Laura Kaye: English Animals – one of those cultural exploration stories which I find so fascinating. A Slovakian woman gets a job as a sort of housekeeper in an English country house owned by an eccentric mismatched couple. Library book which I couldn’t resist getting. Even better: it’s in large print, so the pages just whizz by!

Santiago Gamboa: Return to the Dark Valley – what is it about these Latin Americans that they are so visceral and interesting and wild? An impossible to define novel about fear, dislocation, crimes, revenge and an increasingly global world. Experimental and yet immensely readable.

 

Recent:

Grazia Deledda: After the Divorce – I will write a proper review of this for #EU27Project, but it’s a sweeping picture of a Sardinian village, with all its poverty, gossip, violence and passion. There have been some complaints about the translation, but it sounds quite modern (perhaps too much so?) to me.

Terence Portelli (ed.): Tangerine Sky: Poems from Malta – review to come for #EU27Project. Nice to read something from a culture and country that I know very little about.

Maggie Nelson: Bluets – is this poetry, essay, memoir? A bit of each? An investigation into the colour blue (my favourite) and the end of a relationship.

Future:

Helen Dunmore: Birdcage Walk – the last novel of a wonderful writer, who will be much missed

Sarah Vaughan: Anatomy of a Scandal – political thriller, was going to be part of my summer reading, but I never got around to it

I will be starting a new full-time job on Monday, which will involve daily commuting into London. Whether that adds to my reading time remains to be seen. I am afraid it may sadly eat into my writing and blogging time. However, I suspect that all those who follow me on Twitter will be hugely relieved that I will be spending less time on that platform!

 

16 thoughts on “WWWednesday: What Are You Reading? – 13 Sep 2017”

  1. You’ve got some wonderful variety of books, Marina. And all new to me. I’m currently reading DEAD LINE, my first novel by Stella Rimington who is a British author and former Director General of MI5. I’m also reading THE HONOURABLE COMPANY: A HISTORY OF THE ENGLISH EAST INDIA COMPANY by John Keay, English historian and journalist.

    1. I’ve read a Stella Rimington book too – eager to hear what you make of it! And I remember doing a blistering critique of the East India Company for my economic anthropology exams, so that sounds tempting. Hope you’ll write a review of it.

  2. I wish you well as you get ready for that new job, Marina Sofia. In the meantime, you always have the most interesting books going on! I’m looking forward to your review of the Deledda, in particular.

  3. Ooh, I was getting all intrigued about the Transylvanian book till I reached the words “massive tome” and “first of a trilogy”. Will your review make me able to look past those little issues? Time will tell…

  4. I’m drawn to the Banffy, but the length could be troublesome – still recovering from War and Peace really. Currently heavily involved in a Margaret Atwood book which will definitely be one of my reads of the year. And good luck on Monday! 🙂

  5. Good books being read here. Very glad to hear you have a full-time job, and can bring home the bacon so to speak to your family. Perhaps you will have reading time if you take a train or bus.
    A friend who commutes by subway to and from work gets most of her reading done on the trains.
    Good luck in the new job.
    I’m sure the blog’s readers will gladly adjust to your blogging schedule.
    I haven’t been able to read much lately — have been watching thriller/dvd’s from Australia which have me mesmerized, and Shetland from Ann Cleeves’ books.
    Read “Dogtripping,” about dog rescuers’ trip across country with 25 rescued dogs. Hilarious. And read David Rosenfelt’s latest very funny “legal mystery,” “Collared.”
    Am now reading “Nothing Stays buried,” by P.J. Tracy, a witty serial killer mystery, if one can believe it. It’s set in rural Minnesota, and the scenery is well-described.
    And next I will read Sarah Ward’s third book, “A Patient Fury.”
    I’m into somewhat light reading, no wars, espionage, terrorism, world crises.
    We have enough right here and there are more than enough globally to keep me submerged in TV movies and escapist books.

    1. I want to read the Sarah Ward book as well, like her style. And I completely understand what you are saying, about needing some light reading and no major crisis. Thank you for your good wishes as well. Once I get into a routine, things will be fine!

  6. I may spot you on the commute! I treated myself to the Helen Dunmore to take on holiday and have to confess that I’m really struggling to get into it – will be interested to hear your thoughts.

Do share your thoughts!

