#1937Club: The Years by Virginia Woolf

I actually had to buy a copy of Virginia Woolf’s The Years to reread it for the #1937Club hosted by Simon and Karen. I’m pretty sure I have a copy of it somewhere at my parents’ house, because Virginia Woolf has been one of my firm favourites since I was about twelve and determined to become a writer, so I bought all of her books that I could find at the English Bookshop in Vienna. But it’s probably a good indicator that it was NOT my favourite by VW, because it was one of the few of her books that didn’t accompany me on my moves abroad (another one was The Voyage Out).

Although it was one of her most popular and well-sold books when it appeared (perhaps because it adheres more closely to a conventional family saga format), it has not fared so well in later years. I suppose I bought into that whole ‘most average of her novels’ post-war assessment by critics (and Leonard himself thought she’d failed to accomplish what she wanted with this book, but kindly did not tell her, for fear it might cause a nervous breakdown). However, I think it also has to do with the fact that as a teenager I did not enjoy reading so much about the passing of time, and seeing characters I’d been introduced to as children suddenly become wrinkled and wizened. Rereading it now at a grand old age, it feels like an even truer and more touching description of the passing of time and the ravages it wreaks upon human bodies and minds than To the Lighthouse or The Waves (although those two remain my top favourites). There is a resilience and yet a wistfulness to many of the characters as they age which really spoke to me this time around.

The book presents snapshots of certain days in the life of various members of the Pargiter family (and their acquaintances) from 1880 to the present-day (i.e. 1936). Those were years of extraordinary historical changes: loss of empires, revolutions, several wars – including a world war, the introduction of the automobile and airplanes as normal means of transport, the massive changes in women’s clothing and appearance, the coal strikes, the Spanish Flu and so much more. Yet we don’t get to see any historical figures or dramatic scenes from battlefields, and there is only one scene where a house party gets interrupted by a bombing raid. Instead, this is all filtered through genteel (albeit occasionally heated) conversations in drawing-rooms – where Parnell and the Irish home rule question are the main topics, while the farms in Africa where some of the protagonists spent several years seem delightfully remote, maybe even quaint. I couldn’t help wondering if this reflected the type of conversations that Virginia’s own circles might have engaged in, but then I remember that Leonard was quite a politically engaged writer so they would have been at the very least more aware of all the social changes than most of the Pargiter family seems to be.

There are, of course, exceptions: Rose, the rebellious younger daughter, turned suffragette and imprisoned for her activities, Eleanor who is a tireless worker for charity and later travels the world, and North, who experiences both the front line during WW1 and a failed attempt to run a farm in Africa. But overall, the focus is on the domestic rather than the epic: how those great social and political movements shape individuals and families – or not. From her diaries and letters, it emerges that Virginia intended to write a ‘state of the nation’ novel, taking in all those significant changes, especially about expectations for women, but this book doesn’t quite work in that respect. Instead, it is in the small, intimate moments, in the beautifully written insights into individual minds, and in the gorgeous descriptions of the countryside and the city, a real love letter to London as the time of day, the seasons, the years pass.

I will finish with this very appropriate quote for this time of year, the opening passage to the book, which demonstrates why even a less than perfect book by VW is still superior to many other writers’ offerings. Just listen to the melody and elegance of these carefully-wrought sentences, how she appeals to all the senses, such vivid recreations of time and place, yet instantly recognisable even today.

It was an uncertain spring. The weather, perpetually changing, sent clouds of blue and purple flying over the land. In the country farmers, looking at the fields, were apprehensive; in London umbrellas were opened and then shut by people looking up at the sky. But in April such weather was to be expected. Thousands of shop assistants made that remark as they handed neat parcels to ladies in flounced dresses standing on the other side of the counter and Whiteley’s and the Army and Navy Stores. Interminable processions of shoppers in the West end, of business men in the East, paraded the pavements, like caravans perpetually marching, so it seemed to those who had any reason to pause, say to post a latter, or at a club window in Piccadilly. The stream of landaus, victorias and hansom cabs was incessant; for the season was beginning. In the quieter streets musicians doled out their frail and for the most part melancholy pipe of sound, which was echoed, or parodied, here in the trees of Hyde Park, here in St. James’s by the twitter of sparrows and the sudden outbursts of the amorous but intermittent thrush.

22 thoughts on “#1937Club: The Years by Virginia Woolf”

  1. I do love how so many of the 1937 Club are finishing with this. I don’t think I was aware of this work, though I should be with her diaries gathering dust on my shelves. I do have Annie Ernaux’s The Years which makes me curious to discover Woolf’s.

  2. I’m finishing with this today also! Its really interesting to hear how your experience of it has changed over time. This was a first time read for me, but had I read it as a teenager I’m sure I wouldn’t have appreciated it.

  3. I think that’s very interesting that The Voyage Out is your other least favourite, because I do think they’re similar in that they’re more conventional. To The Lighthouse and The Waves are (I think) the most experimental which I can see would be more appealing to an aspiring young writer!

  4. I think you make a really good point there, Marina – I was in my early 20s when I last read this, afaik, and my response would likely have been coloured by that. You really do respond differently to books depending on your age, and I really do appreciate this one more now. And totally agree about her prose – even what’s considered a lesser book is head and shoulders above others.

  5. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on and experience of The Years. Im intrigued. I’ve read The Waves and To the Lighthouse and Mrs. Dalloway, too, though long overdue for a reread. I adored To the Lighthouse. Jacob’s Room was a wonderful surprise too. I guess I’m saying I love Virginia Woolf. Haven’t read Orlando yet. thank you!

  6. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on and experience of The Years. Im intrigued. I’ve read The Waves and To the Lighthouse and Mrs. Dalloway, too, though long overdue for a reread. I adored To the Lighthouse. Jacob’s Room was a wonderful surprise too. I guess I’m saying I love Virginia Woolf. Haven’t read Orlando yet.
    thank you!

    1. Those are all wonderful books. I think she felt she really hit her stride with Jacob’s Room, but I am very fond of Night and Day too, although it is a more conventional novel than some of the others.

  7. I can’t say that I have read a great deal of Virginia Woolf’s books, but the one that overwhelmed and haunted me for a long time after I read it was The Waves. Marina, I really like the painting on the jacket of The Years. Could you please give me the name of the artist.

    1. It’s called Among the Nerves of the World by C R W Nevinson, dating from the 1920s or 30s, back when Fleet Street was the centre of the British newpaper industry. My favourite cover of the many covers this book has had (and feels very appropriate to the work). Yes, The Waves is my favourite too – I used to be able to recite huge chunks of it and (to my shame nowadays), I always identified most with the very physical, very sensual Jinny. Odd how nowadays I’m all about the life of the mind rather than the body…

      1. Thank you for the name of the artist. I am not at all familier with his work, but I do have the intention of looking him up. I find the title of the painting very intriguing. Be thankful that you still have a very intelligent, active mind that is capable of devouring hundreds of books in short space of time. I know quite a few intelligent people, but not with your capacity to read, retain and analyze so many volumes of literature at a time, making references to other books which you had read years before. As Mae West once said when asked by a woman how she managed to accumulate so many diamonds, she replied…..It’s a gift, honey, it’s a gift. You have been blessed dear Marina!!!

        1. Awww, thank you, and you’re right, I’m very grateful for the life of the mind and the friends I have to share those things with me. Seeing my mother gradually lose her mental capacities (dementia) makes me even more aware that this is a blessing.

        2. It is the reason I wrote what I did as I, too, am noticing the cogs of my mind gradually slipping to a frightening degree. My father had Alzheimer’s, and I have an older sister who has dementia. It started when she was close to the age I have now. There are days when I am quite lucid and raring to go, and other days I forget everything, tripping over my words in French and English, not knowing the day of the week etc. It is very disturbing.

  8. It’s interesting what you say about your initial reaction to The Years as I, too, preferred To the Lighthouse and Mrs Dalloway when I read her – perhaps The Years is due a re-read.

  9. I hoped to read this for the Club but there wasn’t the copy I expected to find on Emily’s shelves – still, your review makes me even more determined to eventually get to it!

  10. I have seen a few people reading this for the 1937 club, an excellent choice. I read it a couple of years ago. I don’t think I had expected to like it as much as I did. Thinking it a minor work too perhaps. I really enjoyed that sense of time passing. The snapshots perfectly crafted to give a sense of a family over time. I can see how a reread would be beneficial.

Do share your thoughts!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.