World Poetry Day – a few spring offerings

A day late is par for the course for me at present. Here are some poetry exercises – 1, 2, 3 and 4 line poems, mainly about Spring as I was driving two years ago to Provence.

1 line poems:

There’s too much beauty in the air.

 

Spring: the waiting is long, but the season is short.

2 line poems:

I cannot name a single bird.

Does that make my spring rush any less real?

 

How can you not let the landscape fill you?

Breathe in, let it tingle your ribs.

 

3 line poems:

Mountains shed their last

snow mantle. I sigh in bliss.

Car behind honks loud.

 

First full day of spring.

Saint Paul les Monestier:

very name a charm.

4 line poems:

Crooked stones with gaps for windows,

sun-baked lizard on ochre tiles,

birds call out their evening greetings

mending headaches, silent sighs.

 

Napoleon may have passed here on his way

to short-lived northern resurrection.

A stream’s the only one bustling today

in domaines of sea-pine covered indolence.

I am also linking this to dVerse Poets Pub for the Open Link Night. Any form or subject goes, so it’s a poetic delight!

30 thoughts on “World Poetry Day – a few spring offerings”

  1. I agree with fictionfan (not that we had snow but the weather is grim) – the perfect antidote. I assume these were all written separately but they read so well as a whole. Thanks for sharing, Marina Sofia – at just the right moment when we need some spring cheer. Not late at all!

    1. I did write them separately, although they were all written during the 3-4 days that I was travelling and staying in the south of France. A memorable journey and beautiful weather.

  2. Tiny poems are so much better to celebrate spring than a pound of chocolate, for example (and with less lasting damage to the hips!). Thank you for sharing!

  3. From six word–one line twitter poems to some of my lengthy poetics–the season is worthy of praise. Your 1-4 line stanzas are lovely, & just deep enough.

  4. I can’t wait for spring to finally arrive here ~ Love this one: Breathe in, let it tingle your ribs.

    Gorgeous bouquet of words here Marina ~

    1. Yes, I can imagine spring is still quite a way behind in your part of the world. We seem to be moving in the right direction here, although there are still some miserable days…

    1. Thank you – I think because they were all written during this one trip that I took to the south of France, there was an unintended homogeneity of theme running through them.

    1. I am hopeless with bird names – although, after careful listening of several recordings, I have managed to identify the bird which wakes me up at 5 a.m. every morning with its very loud (though beautiful) singing as a blackbird.

  5. Living in Canada, your second line poem, really resonates, with what spring is like here:

    “Spring: the waiting is long, but the season is short.”

    Usually, in southern Ontario, it feels like we get two weeks of spring weather before the summer arrives. As winter isn’t officially over, until that last snow storm, in April.

  6. Nice to stop by here and share World Poetry Day with your offerings. It’s hard to pick a favorite, but I like the mending of headaches and sighs very much.

  7. My goodness your 1-4 line stanzas are absolutely amazing!!❤️Especially love; “I cannot name a single bird. Does that make my spring rush any less real? How can you not let the landscape fill you? Breathe in, let it tingle your ribs.” Beautifully executed.❤️

  8. I can’t name many birds although “bird” is a name for all of them. Sometimes I know a “pigeon” or a “seagull” when I see them, but there are fancier species names. I don’t know any of those names for any bird. I still enjoy spring, as you suggest I would.

  9. Happy world poetry day to you too – how have you been? I was away from Dverse a long time .

    The wait for spring is always beautiful

      1. Thank you so much – yes, I moved to Australia end of last year and that’s why I almost didn’t write for an year. Now getting accustomed to Melbourne.

        And yes, I linked up. Seeing many new poets on Dverse.

Do share your thoughts!

