Friday Fun: Bookshelves over Doorways

I’m off to Berlin today and can only hope I find flats that have at least half as much potential as the ones below for built-in bookshelves, including those going over doorways, to maximise space.

I rather like the idea of one room flowing into another, when they are studies and living rooms combined, especially with these bookshelves drawing the eye in. From Pinterest.
A darker version, with an upper gallery – perhaps too aspirational. From Pinterest.
Beautiful proportions in these two rooms, from Apartment Therapy.
This might be a bit too white for my taste, but has that timeless elegance. From Coco Lapine Designs.
This feels very American, somehow, or perhaps English country house. That curtain over the garden door is entirely superfluous and there are too many decorations rather than books on the shelves, but still… From Decoist.
Here are some real examples from Berlin – from the flat of a couple who moved there from London. From md-mag.com
Not sure that the children’s playroom sits comfortably with the reading armchair (at least, not for parents), for this flat in Prenzlauer Berg, photo credit: Sabine Oster for Houzz.com
This is a real picture of a real apartment in Berlin, where they are looking for a flatmate. Just look at the size of that room, compared to London houseshares! From WG Gesucht.
Another white but fine Berlin conversion, from Wohnung Einrichten.

I’ll not be posting anything this coming week, while I am in Berlin, but you may expect some pictures from favourite neighbourhoods and the Caspar David Friedrich exhibition afterwards.

9 thoughts on “Friday Fun: Bookshelves over Doorways”

  1. I love the looks of these spaces, Marina Sofia! I can well imagine myself in any of these places. The one from Apartment Therapy is my choice, but any of them would be great. I wish you much success flat-hunting. Hopefully it all goes well.

  2. Those are gorgous – such a clever use of space if you have it, thought I think you would need reasonable sized rooms and not too much clutter to get away with it, and I would definitely fail on the latter. Happy hunting!!

  3. Perfect timing to match my reading of Perec, ha ha!

    You know, I think the ones that seem too white look that way because the books are white. My library has floor-to-ceiling white shelves with cupboards at the bottom for messy stuff but it doesn’t look too white because of the jumble of colours from my books.

  4. Good luck with the flat hunting! I wish I could go to the Caspar David Friedrich exhibition.

    Gorgeous pictures, especially the ones with white shelves.

Do share your thoughts!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.