Friday Fun: Cemeteries

Not quite so fun, really, but in a week where we’ve lost two very talented people, this is a reminder of the transience of life, or, as the Japanese poem goes:

Colours are fragrant but they
will eventually scatter.
Who in our world
is unchanging?
The deep mountains of karma
we cross them today,
we shall not have superficial dreams,
nor be deluded.

Bellu Cemetery in Bucharest, from crestinortodox.ro
Bellu Cemetery in Bucharest, from crestinortodox.ro
Highgate Cemetery in London, from Wikipedia.
Highgate Cemetery in London, from Wikipedia.
Jewish Cemetery in Prague, from architecture.about.com
Jewish Cemetery in Prague, from architecture.about.com
Pere Lachaise Cemetery in Paris, from Promptguides.com
Pere Lachaise Cemetery in Paris, from Promptguides.com
Muslim cemetery in Sarajevo, from Wikipedia.
Muslim cemetery in Sarajevo, from Wikipedia.
The Cheerful Cemetery in Sapinta, Romania. Each gravestone has a humorous poem about the deceased. From turismland.ro
The Cheerful Cemetery in Sapinta, Romania. Each gravestone has a humorous poem about the deceased. From turismland.ro

 

23 thoughts on “Friday Fun: Cemeteries”

  1. It *has* been a rubbish week, but oddly enough I’ve always found cemeteries very soothing. Highgate and Pere Lachaise for me, although I do like the idea of the cheerful poems.

  2. I live in London and have never visited Highgate Cemetery I’m ashamed to say but I have visited Pere Lachaise. Oscar Wilde has to be my favourite in Paris. When I visited his memorial was covered in lipstick kisses and people had left their metro tickets, letters and even shoes as a sign they had been there. It was extraordinarily touching. Cheerful poems – I think I’d struggle to write them!

  3. Beautiful. Thank you for putting this together, Marina. They are all very moving in their own individual ways. The Romanian cemetery feels like a celebration of life…

  4. This really is a lovely, thoughtful piece, Marina Sofia – thanks. It has been quite a week… And those cemeteries each have something about them. They’re all very different, but each draws you in some way.

  5. Great post. I love cemeteries and try to visit notable ones (and not so notable ones) when in different cities. I’m going to the necropolis is Glasgow later this month and looking forward to it. I live near Glasnevin Cemetery in Dublin and it’s a stunning place for a stroll. http://www.glasnevintrust.ie or google image it.

  6. Add me to the list of people who love to visit cemeteries. Especially nice old ones. My favorite is a place where the trunk of a tree is enveloping a gravestone. In another hundred years the stone will be entirely inside the tree.

  7. I have a friend who is obsessed by Highgate cemetery and makes special journeys down to London just to visit it. Not my idea of a good day out, I have to say, but then probably she thinks some of the things I do are just as queer.

Do share your thoughts!

