Friday Fun: White Breeze, Deep Calm

Back in the days when I had complete freedom to decorate my house without fear of sticky fingers, a trail of breadcrumbs, opinionated non-decorators and generally messy family members, I opted for an all-white interior, with accents of blue.

Some might find white on white too cold and clinical, reminiscent of hospitals and canteens, but I long for those days of effortless simplicity. Classic, calming, bringing back happy memories of the sea and endless horizons… Holiday time!

Paula Navone industrial style loft, from Est Magazine.
Paula Navone industrial style loft, from Est Magazine.
From Domaine Home.
From Domaine Home.
Kitchen/diner, from decor4all.com
Kitchen/diner, from decor4all.com
Brazilian beach house, from Domaine Home.
Brazilian beach house, from Domaine Home.
Conservatory from homedit.com
Conservatory from homedit.com
Per Jansson flat in Stockholm, perjansson.se
Per Jansson flat in Stockholm, perjansson.se
Beach house with driftwood furniture, from aneciik.blogspot.com
Beach house with driftwood furniture, from aneciik.blogspot.com

 

20 thoughts on “Friday Fun: White Breeze, Deep Calm”

  1. Think it’s the beach house for me this week… especially if that’s a terrace to the left overlooking sea. But yes, like Kaggsy says, first purchase would be shelves…

  2. Oh, Marina Sofia, those are all so beautiful and restful! So calming! I love the conservatory in particular. It may not be the most practical of decorating choices, but I really like it.

  3. I love the Stockholm flat and the beach house. I also really like white, but had it drummed out of my decorating options by small people. My son is grown and left home now, but I don’t think my husband could really be trusted with white furnishings either! Still, it’s fun to look at the pictures.

  4. The pictures are wonderful, but I feel my stress level rising just by looking at them. They scream “no kids here! 100% chance of mess, dirty fingers and big meltdowns! i’m never gonna see my rental deposit again!” That’s what little boys do to you…

    1. I know all too well. We used to have a white sofa pre-children and, even with covers spread all over it, you should have seen the run-down state of it when we moved to France (we gave it away for someone to use in a barn!).

Do share your thoughts!

