Friday Fun: Apartments in Berlin

Now that I have sung the praises of the large, airy 19th century Parisian apartments, I feel I should also mention apartments in Berlin. Some are in 19th or early 20th century buildings with the famous inner courtyards, but many warehouses have also been redeveloped. You will see that the Berlin property market is less afraid of modern architecture and interior design than the Paris one.

This is the kind of apartment I aspire to live in when I finally relocate to Berlin. Remains to be seen how feasible it might be. From HouseDiaries.com.

I just love those large windows, high ceilings, rooms flowing into each other (which is not ideal with small children, but it suits me fine now). From Pinterest.

There seem to be a lot of top-floor flats in Berlin, which could be very hot in summer and cold in winter, but gives you nice views over the city, such as this one from Tranio.com

An industrial conversion, rather New York loft style and perhaps appealing to all those wealthy expats craving to reinvent themselves in Berlin. From DezignArk.com

Perhaps a little too modern, corporate and bland, but what one could do with such a big space! From InteriorZine.

Quite a monochrome design, but enhanced by the greenery outside, from Forwardracingmtb.com

14 thoughts on “Friday Fun: Apartments in Berlin”

  1. All seem a bit austere Marina. I think the fourth one, New York loft style is the best probably because I love NY. Hope your holiday is going well. Do you go to the Danube Delta which I love?

    1. Sadly no Danube Delta this year, as we want to spend as much time as possible with my mother and she can’t travel much anymore. But there’s plenty to see and enjoy even so.

  2. They are all fantastic, though the first three look cozier….. and I’m sssoo glad they don’t have library-sized book-shelves all over the place hehe 🙂

  3. I liked the snug top floor flat more than most of the other open plan apartments – large empty spaces suggest empty minds to me, is that wrong? – though the last slightly stark Art Deco one appeals too because of the style … and the generous shelf space.

  4. Love these! I live in a top floor flat and as long as the roof is properly insulated then it’s fine – something I was very grateful for this week when the temperatures were so high! My flat used to be an oven, I dread to think what would have happened this week if they hadn’t redone the insulation last year. This is definitely the most boring comment I’ve ever left on a post, I do apologise Marina Sofia 😀

  5. Oh, these all look so tempting, Marina Sofia! I’m a minimalist at heart, so they all appeal. And I love that airiness and space! Er – do you have room in the first one for one more person?

  6. I love pocket doors so find the first apartment highly appealing. Some of the apartments in my aunt’s Bremerhaven building had large ones like that (built in the early 20th century). I miss Germany.

Do share your thoughts!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.